ratings and reviews

Customer Reviews for MD Formulations Moisture Defense Antioxidant Hydrating Gel

MD Formulations Moisture Defense Antioxidant Hydrating Gel

Replenishes vital hydration while defending skin with antioxidants.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
9 of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
MD Formulations Moisture Defense Antioxidant Hydrating Gel Reviews
MD Formulations Moisture Defense Antioxidant Hydrating Gel Review #1
tdkh
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, gentle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

LOVE LOVE LOVE

-August 21, 2014
My favourite antioxidant moisturizer. Wouldn't work on dry skin. My skin is combo to oily, depending on the day. This is perfect. You only need one squirt for the whole face so this bottle will last you a long time. I might need something heavier for the winter ... I am not sure about that yet. I have not broken out since using this as with other gel moisturizers I do.
MD Formulations Moisture Defense Antioxidant Hydrating Gel Review #2
Jenn418
Surprise, AZ
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, gentle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination
-November 2, 2013
Great for oily/sensitive skin, never burns on days that I don't use retinol. I think the name is a little misleading, it doesn't hydrate. I love it because I can wear it under makeup to protect my skin from free radical damage and it won't make me look grasy through out the day.
MD Formulations Moisture Defense Antioxidant Hydrating Gel Review #3
slidingdoors
Midwest and UK
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, protective packaging, contains antioxidants, non-oily, no fragrance
Cons: quite drying, non-moisturizing, leaves a slightly "slick" surface on skin
1 out of 5
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value 
2 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Disappointed, because I'd had high hopes for it!

-October 18, 2012
In order to give it a fair chance, I tried this product for a few days, then for one week I used no moisturizer or makeup etc. at all, then I tried this product again (while using nothing else in my skincare routine but my normal face wash and this product).
Unfortunately, both times I tried it, this product dried my skin out, leaving it feeling taut and dehydrated, which could be felt as soon as half an hour after it was applied. After the second trial of this, my skin would actually hurt when I washed it at night, after having had this gel on during the day.
I also think it caused me to have some clogged pores on my forehead, but I can't be sure because those do appear from time to time on me anyway.
I have combination skin with a very oily t-zone, so I am not used to any product making my face feel dry and tight (and I have used 10% benzoyl peroxide nightly for 30 years, and I can keep clay masks on my face for a hour with no ill effects).
Maybe I am sensitive to one of the ingredients of this gel, but the ingredients list is pretty short and "healthy-looking", and it is apparently approved by skincare evaluators like Paula Begoun, who has ranked this gel in her highest (best) category for moisturizers made for oily and combination skin.
If this simply provided no moisturization and behaved in a neutral manner, I would probably have continued using it for the easy and properly-protected dose of antioxidants that it provides, which I find hard to get any other way (since I cannot use most moisturizers or foundations because they clog my pores), but this product actually made my skin worse off than using nothing did, so I will be returning it.
MD Formulations Moisture Defense Antioxidant Hydrating Gel Review #4
aprillyn24
CA
Pros: lightweight, absorbs quickly
Cons: caused blackheads
1 out of 5
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value 
1 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use 
3 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

Not for me

-September 3, 2012
My skin reacts to everything I try, so I figured the light ingredients (and no dimethicone, ceytl alcohol ingredients that are known to clog pores) would be the perfect moisturizer. Unfortunately, it made my skin feel a bit tight and after about 2 weeks, I noticed a two areas full of tiny clogs. Gels have thus far not been good to me. If you have normal skin, this is awesome. If you normally react to products, steer clear and use something else.
MD Formulations Moisture Defense Antioxidant Hydrating Gel Review #5
pickyshopper
los ángeles, ca
Pros: lightweight, absorbs quickly, gentle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:sensitive

the Best antioxidant serum for oily skin

-February 15, 2012
I've tried antioxidant serums from all price ranges and this is the very best for my very oily, sensitive, acne-prone and reactive skin. I was looking for a lightweight antioxidant serum to protect my skin, offered oil-free hydration, fragrance-free and non-sensitizing.This product meets all the above criteria. Thank you MD formulations for creating this gentle product for sensitive skin. Please don't ever discontinue this product! I will continue to purchase as long as you keep making this serum. Highly recommend if you have oily, sensitive skin like mine!
MD Formulations Moisture Defense Antioxidant Hydrating Gel Review #6
Skincarenut
Somewhere in Neverland
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, gentle, doesn't cause breakouts, few ingredients
Cons: not extremely moisturizing
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

Great Option for EXTREMELY oily types

-August 1, 2011
I love that this moisturizer is comprised of only a few ingredients, hylauronic acid being the main one. It is super lightweight and sinks in almost immediately. If I had to say one negative, it would be that I am afraid it will be too light for those that need more moisture. This is definitely designed for OILY, OILY skin types that need a truly lightweight formula. If you are oily and need more than normal moisture, this isn't for you. But, in a nutshell, I wouldn't call that a con, because the product is made for OILY types. So, you wouldn't buy this if you needed more moisture. I love that it is scentless and absorbs so quickly. I haven't experienced any breakouts and I breakout from everything. Nice product!
MD Formulations Moisture Defense Antioxidant Hydrating Gel Review #7
rjhea
Poconos, PA
Pros: lightweight, absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Age Group:55+
Gender:F
Skin Type:sensitive

AOX hydrating gel

-March 26, 2011
I use this product because it does not cause my sensitive skin to react and the ingredients list is good. It is sufficient in the hot, humid weather. It is not moisturizing enough in the cold, dry winter. I have gone through numerous bottles of the hydrating gel. The pumps have been iffy. My current pump was clogged when I received it. I will continue to use this product but will also continue to look for something that better suits my aging skin.
MD Formulations Moisture Defense Antioxidant Hydrating Gel Review #8
hopeful
Illinois
Pros: lightweight, pleasant fragrance
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:45-54
Gender:F
Skin Type:sensitive
-October 30, 2010
I have combination skin, rosacea, and break-out from a lot of face and hair products, so I'm always trying new products in the hope something will address all my problems. I'm also starting to see wrinkles around the mouth & eyes. This moisturizer came in a kit for adult acne, but using the entire line made my rosacea flair up. This product, however, soothed my skin after the regime, and I didn't break out, so I bought it again. I can't say it gets rid of wrinkles, but at least I'm moisturizing.
MD Formulations Moisture Defense Antioxidant Hydrating Gel Review #9
justme
Houston
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, gentle, no fragrance
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:55+
Gender:F
Skin Type:sensitive

Great summer hydrator

-July 6, 2010
This is a great summer hydrating moisturizer for my 63 year old, Retin-A treated skin in hot, humid Houston. It hydrates but isn't the least bit greasy and doesn't cause acne. Yes, my skin is tight after using it, but the flaking is gone. All those greasy moisturizers leave my skin supple, still flaking, and ridden with acne. Anyway, I'm ordering another bottle. Hydrated skin with no Retin-A flaking or pimples - worth every penny.
MD Formulations Moisture Defense Antioxidant Hydrating Gel Review #10
TraciJ
West Milford, NJ
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Top 250 Contributor
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

A keeper for oily skin hydration

-June 28, 2010
I purchased this product on a recommendation from a product review website because my current hydrator seems to have been discontinued. I already used another product in this line based on the same recommendation, and really liked it, so decided to give it a try. I am not disappointed - nice texture, dries quickly and leaves skin soft and prepped for SPF and makeup. Glad I had a reliable source to count on and made the purchase, which is about 1/2 the price of my discontinued product. Love the packaging also to keep the ingredients stable. Also purchased the antioxidant spray to use over makeup for summer oilies and am pretty impressed with that product so far as well.
MD Formulations Moisture Defense Antioxidant Hydrating Gel Review #11
christophe
CV
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Top 250 Contributor
Age Group:Under 25
Gender:M
Skin Type:oily

light, but a little bit too light

-August 5, 2009
it does what it says, it's great for acne-prone skin, and it offers a clear finish, while a lot of hydrators can't do,but it's a little bit too light, and not hydrating enough, you should use a big amount to get the hydrating feeling, so a tube won't last long, anyway, it's great if you have acne-prone skin, it could be one of the safest product to use.
if you have oily and acne skin, it could be a life saver, but if you have acne skin which is oily on the outside but dehydrating inside, then you may need something more hydrating, like a lotion.
MD Formulations Moisture Defense Antioxidant Hydrating Gel Review #12
rochelle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

great for acnes

-May 27, 2007
non-greasy non-frangrance perfect to use for dehydrated oily, acne-prone skin
MD Formulations Moisture Defense Antioxidant Hydrating Gel Review #13
linda
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

works grat for acne

-December 22, 2005
i had acne skin, and this is a great moisturer for acne. I love it!
Copyright © 2014 SkinStore.com