ratings and reviews

Customer Reviews for La Roche Posay Anthelios 40 Sunscreen

La Roche Posay Anthelios 40 Sunscreen

Broad-spectrum UVA/UVB protection for outdoor use.
Average Customer Rating:
2.546 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
6
3 of 6(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
La Roche Posay Anthelios 40 Sunscreen Reviews
La Roche Posay Anthelios 40 Sunscreen Review #1
CaliRoseGardener
Orange County, CA
Cons: sticky, greasy, harsh/abrasive, heavy, white
1 out of 5
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use 
1 out of 5
Top 10 Contributor
Age Group:45-54
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

Horrible!

-April 4, 2012
This is NOTHING like the SPF15 with ecamsule! Like others, I purchased this because I love the Anthelios SPF 15 daily moisturizer, but I wanted higher SPF. This cream is cakey, chalky, crumbly, and white, and it never blends into my skin. It lightens the color of makeup, making me look ridiculous. Maybe a clown could use this instead of greasepaint.
La Roche Posay Anthelios 40 Sunscreen Review #2
Monica26300
Cleveland
Pros: smooth texture
Cons: greasy, whitish cast
1 out of 5
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use 
1 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:dry

Not suitable for normal or dry skin

-October 21, 2010
I chose this product with a expectaion for effect of Meroxyl and I agreed that it was excellent component for screeing UVA.
The only one reaseon that I gave up using this product was whitish cast. (Every time I applied it to face with fingers, it left a track along the finger movement). It seems that it is hard to use this suncreen without additional face foundation.
La Roche Posay Anthelios 40 Sunscreen Review #3
DaisyChainsaw
Staten Island
Pros: you dont get sunburnt
Cons: chalky, not water resistant
1 out of 5
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use 
1 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

not worth it

-July 19, 2010
I purchased this because it had mexoryl. But I would rather slather on someting less safe than finish this expensive tube of suncreen. The lotion is SO white and chalky that despite tanning all day I look like a mime melting in the sun. The lotion runs when you go in the water leaving stains on your skin that look like winter salt stains. It certainly keeps you from getting burnt, but you look ridiculous in the process. I tried it several times and I give up.
La Roche Posay Anthelios 40 Sunscreen Review #4
barbara2121
Los Angeles
Pros: lightweight, absorbs quickly, gentle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:55+
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

Good Bet for Sensitive, Acne Prone Skin

-June 5, 2010
Anthelios 40 got one of the best sunblock ratings from EWG. I have acne prone, sensitive, allergic skin. I also need added sun protection b/o I am fair skinned and @ high risk for skin cancers.
I used a primer after I applied this and my makeup went on smoothly. My skin didn't itch or break out and I didn't burn.
La Roche Posay Anthelios 40 Sunscreen Review #5
Char
Pros: truly unscented
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:sensitive

Great even for extremely sensitive skin

-July 15, 2009
For those who cannot tolerate chemical sunblocks, this product is amazing. It is thick so if you use too much, it can leave a whitish cast but once you figure out the right amount, it's almost possible to go without foundation and just follow with powder. If you have extremely sensitive skin, this is worth trying. My only suggestion for improvement would be to change the tube that it comes in. You'll want to get every single drop out of the tube but it's impossible because of the design.
La Roche Posay Anthelios 40 Sunscreen Review #6
PittShopper
Pros: absorbs quickly, gentle, smooth texture
Cons: heavy
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5

Nice sunscreen

-March 31, 2009
Anthelios is one of the best and most effective sunscreens out there. It's the only FDA approved sunscreen as well. This formula is heavier than the SPF 15 one but if you massage it well and put some powder on top it disappears into your skin. It's only 1/2 the size of the SPF 15 for the same price, so it is a bit pricey, but well worth it if you want to protect your skin.
La Roche Posay Anthelios 40 Sunscreen Review #7
kari d
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Great Sunscreen

-January 1, 2009
I LOVED LOVED LOVED this product. I've tried every other sunscreen out there and this is by far the best! At first it does leave a white hue, however, after 10 minutes, and application of blush, my skin looks radiant but NOT greasy. This is the first sunscreen I don't have to wear foundation over. I LOVE IT!
La Roche Posay Anthelios 40 Sunscreen Review #8
DOLL B
1 out of 5
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5

WOULD NOT RECCOMEND

-December 23, 2008
I SHOULD HAVE WENT WITH THE OTHER REVIEWS BUT I THOUGHT I WOULD TRY IT MYSELF. THIS STUFF IS AWFUL. AS SOON AS I PUT IT ON, IT WOULDN'T EVEN RUB IN. IT STAYED A WHITE FILM ON MY FACE. I HAD TO WASH IT OFF WITH A WASHCLOTH. I WOULD NOT RECCOMEND THIS AT ALL.
La Roche Posay Anthelios 40 Sunscreen Review #9
Kaya
1 out of 5
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5

Absolutely Awful

-October 16, 2008
As soon as I saw that an spf 40 version was available, I immediately ordered a tube. Much to my horror, upon application this product leaves a ghasly whitish cast that cannot be disguised satisfactorily, even with bronzer. I am a light-skinned African, and I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone with even a hint of pigmentation. Save your money!
La Roche Posay Anthelios 40 Sunscreen Review #10
Linnie
3 out of 5
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5

Not for face

-July 30, 2008
I ordered this right away when I saw it was new to Skinstore. I love the Anthelious SPF 15 I've purchased here, and was excited to try the SPF 40, however, it is NOT for the face, if you want to wear it under makeup as a daily sunscreen,which is what I needed. It leaves a definite white cast on the skin, and cannot be covered up by makeup. It is a small tube, smaller than the SPF 15 tube, so for the body, it is too little product for the price. I don't doubt the excellent protection, but too bad this formulation did not work for my intended use under makeup. I will go back to the SPF 15 moisturizer in the winter. I love all other products in this line, though.
La Roche Posay Anthelios 40 Sunscreen Review #11
TC
1 out of 5
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5

Disappointed

-July 27, 2008
I so wanted to like this product because of the extra UVA protection but it left a terrible white cast on my fast that made me look like a ghost. I would be embarassed to wear this stuff out in public because of the way it made my skin look. I'm sure the protection is there but it just doesn't look good on my already pale skin. Also, Skinstore.com fails to mention that this product contains 5% titanium dioxide.
Copyright © 2013 SkinStore.com