ratings and reviews

Customer Reviews for PCA SKIN Pigment Gel

PCA SKIN Pigment Gel

This pigment treatment lightens and inhibits hyperpigmentation and age spots while exfoliating the skin.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
9
16 of 25(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
PCA SKIN Pigment Gel Reviews
PCA SKIN Pigment Gel Review #1
kbMA
Recent Texas transplant
Pros: absorbs quickly
Cons: extremely strong alcohol smell, harsh
1 out of 5
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Top 100 Contributor
Age Group:45-54
Gender:F
Skin Type:dry

didn't do anything

-September 3, 2014
I have used PCA products in the past and have had good luck with them. This product has a very strong smell that is like alcohol. It is also drying. I put straight tamanu oil on after it absorbed.
But after using the entire bottle, I didn't see any change. I even took "before" and "after" pictures to see if there was a difference. I'm now trying the Lei'd product to see if it works.
PCA SKIN Pigment Gel Review #2
Skintastic
Murfreesboro,Tn
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle, laser would be more effective but this is the bes, topical treatment available
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
Top 250 Contributor
Age Group:55+
Gender:F
Skin Type:normal

PCA SKIN Pigment Gel

-August 11, 2014
I have been using this gel for a bout 2 years . My brown spots are still there but, they are much lighter now. Laser would be the only way to eliminate them totally. I'm not ready for that yet.
PCA SKIN Pigment Gel Review #3
susandaisy
phoenix az
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Top 250 Contributor
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:sensitive

Works better than Rx

-November 9, 2013
I keep coming back to PCA Pigment gel. My Dr. recommends 4% but it comes in a cream and doesn't penetrate into my skin. When I switch back to PCA I notice results immediately. I am blonde blue eyes. Dealing with hyperpigmentation due to hormonal or melasma.
PCA SKIN Pigment Gel Review #4
Luv2netshop
Oceanside, CA
Pros: absorbs quickly
Cons: sticky
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Top 250 Contributor
Age Group:45-54
Gender:F
Skin Type:dry

Lightening results.

-August 21, 2013
I have fair colored, dry and slightly sensitive Asian skin. I wear sunscreen and reapply religiously, even on cloudy days. Normally, I go to my med spa dermatologist every couple of years and have my melasma lasered off in one fell swoop (and even with the laser, certain spots seemed to return slowly). Gets expensive and funds are tight now.
I've try many lightener products throughout the years before my laser treatments that were not medical grade. None have seemed to work until now.
I was not sure the gel was doing anything. I was using it every night. It is a bit drying and I heavily moisturize after the gel fully absorbs. I went through 1/2 the bottle and did not see a difference. Now I am 2/3rd through, I have noticed that the darkest melasma splotches are much lighter. They are not gone, but blend better into my lightly tanned (not intentionally tanned, it is summer at this writing and even with sunscreen I get some color) face.
I'm hoping the spots will be even lighter at the end of the bottle. I don't expect the spots to totally disappear. If the product works as expected, I will purchase more for my maintenance.
PCA SKIN Pigment Gel Review #5
Nsullo
Pros: absorbs quickly
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:sensitive

A miracle!

-July 2, 2013
So I've tried every product to treat melasma. I have a brown patch on my cheek from sun damage and birth control. The first week this stuff makes your melasma worse, so you probably don't want to start it if you have plans that week! For me the process was as follows (keep in mind I have sensitive skin):
At first my spot turned darker brown, then a reddish brown that was very pronounced. I worried a little. Then it started to turn rough and scaly. I continued to apply gel twice a day, even though it stung/burned when I applied to affected area. After a couple days it started to peel off. I could actually see my dark spot peeling off. I kept applying even though it burned and peeled. I worried because now my spots were a mix of brown, red and a peeling mess. So I called PCA and asked if I should continue treatment. They said yes and what's happening to me means it's working. So I listened. I've been using twice a day for a month now and my spots are completely gone! For the last week in a half my spots were just pinkish red but I decided to keep using and now the lightening agents are working to finish the job. First te spots go through a deep acidic peeling process that's not too flattering and then the lightening process starts. That's why it's important to be consistent with this stuff bc if u use it right and can handle a little unflattering weeks than you will see results! It's definitely worth it!!!!
PCA SKIN Pigment Gel Review #6
SunDapple
San Francisco Bay Area
3 out of 5
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Age Group:55+
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

On the Fence

-April 9, 2013
First let me say that I have used Obagi and had great success with that. I can't say the same (yet) about PCA. I wanted to do a quick touch up on a couple of spots that have surfaced since I stopped Obagi a couple of years ago. This product seemed to be easier to use than Obagi and certainly less expensive.
I have been using PCA for 3 weeks now. I went through the pinkish-redness stage and then one morning I woke up with a bright red wound on my face. It looked like an acid burn. I stopped using the PCA hoping that would help it heal. This is much worse than just redness. Nothing like this happened with Obagi.
I've been walking around with this angry spot, the size of my thumbnail, for almost a week. Now it has turned from red to brown scabby thing. There are signs at the edges that the peeling process will begin again, and I hope that is so. What is there now is way worse than my original spot. I hope I do not scar.
I am on the fence about this product. It could be the worse thing I've ever done to myself, but it could be just okay. It is certainly scary.
Maybe some skin is just too sensitive for this formula. I would seriously consider the sensitivity level of your skin before using this one, or maybe try the True Tone or the HQ Free formula, but if you can afford it, try Obagi.
PCA SKIN Pigment Gel Review #7
inga
Cons: harsh/abrasive, heavy
1 out of 5
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value 
1 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use 
2 out of 5

I would not recommend this product ...

-August 23, 2011
I was using the gel for about 2 weeks and after that my skin start peel.. in the next couple of days I start hving rush and red skin.. now I have a red spa like after burning.. not sure what to do at this poin... maybe works for different people, but not for me..
PCA SKIN Pigment Gel Review #8
Booboozizi
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use 
1 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Don't put your spots at risk!

-July 31, 2011
Purchased this serum and pigment bar in hopes of fading a few age spots based on the great reviews. Followed the directions meticulously and always applied a broad spectrum sunscreen (Sheishido SPF 50) after the am application. Used the combo system for 6 weeks and expected the spots to darken before "falling off" as some reviews indicated. Not only did the spots never fade, these products ruined by face!! In addition to an overall darkening of the existing spots, I am now left with multiple new large sun spots that appeared after using these products for a couple weeks. I remained hopeful but discontinued use after horrible results and darker spots and new sun spots that now cover my cheeks. It's important to mention that I take excellent care of my skin and avoid sun exposure if/when possible. Have never reviewed a product but am so disappointed and upset by the condition of my face that I wanted to warn others that the potential negative effect is not worth it! Wish I had never used this product!
PCA SKIN Pigment Gel Review #9
Olivia
Central Valley, CA
Pros: absorbs quickly, gentle
Cons: sticky
3 out of 5
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:55+
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination
-May 8, 2011
Can't really review very fairly as I have not been using it very long but unfortunately I have not seen any decrease in my brown spots. I will keep using and hope to see results in the near future.
PCA SKIN Pigment Gel Review #10
Lubna
Washington DC
Pros: lightweight, absorbs quickly
Cons: harsh/abrasive
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Images
(click to zoom)
User submitted photo
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:dry

It worked!!

-May 7, 2011
This gel worked on my brown spot better than any other pigment correction gel around. It reduced my brown spot up to 80% very quickly. I was very happy until i noticed it kind of stopped working. Also the gel was making my skin very dry and harsh. Then i used Juice green apple peel and that finished the job! The peel and the PCA pigment gel worked great together. The peel made my skin soft and removed the dark spot all together. I’m planning to continue the gel.
PCA SKIN Pigment Gel Review #11
Redhead01
New Mexico
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
Age Group:55+
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

My very favorite

-March 4, 2011
As a redhead with pronounced freckles and "years" of using any product I could get my hands on, this is the most effective at reducing my freckles. Can't live without it
PCA SKIN Pigment Gel Review #12
Jetdeagon
Alb, NM
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, gentle
Cons: mildly unpleasant smell
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:Under 25
Gender:M
Skin Type:normal

The Only One That's Worked

-January 3, 2011
I have very light skin naturally, but since I was born I had this rather large spotty birthmark that was much darker brown than my natural skin color and extremely noticeable. It always caused self-esteem problems for me growing up, and I went to several different dermatologists about getting it removed and they all seemed to disagree (some said there was nothing that could be done, some said only laser treatment could work, ect). So, I tried the recommended laser treatment a dermatologist suggested, and it didn't work very well at all, and was very expensive. After that failed I felt like there was nothing I could ever do get rid of this thing, and then one day I was researching other methods online that could potentially work (rather hopelessly at that) and came across this product. I thought, "Why not, it's cheap and everything else I've tried hasn't worked so maybe this will be the one". It ABSOLUTELY did. Within two weeks or so I began seeing a change, (albeit a kind of unattractive one, the product sort of pulls the pigment out from deep in the skin and brings it to the surface, which initially makes your dark spots look darker, but then it begins peeling, and you can literally pluck off a piece of peeling skin and look at it and see the pigment in there, it's wild) and it just overwhelmed me. By the time I was done with the whole bottle, the dark spot was gone and it looked (seriously) as if it was never there, plus this product doesn't lighten your natural skin color, only the dark spot (though I'd still be precise with the application so as not to waste any). All in all, one of the best purchases I have ever made, definitely life changing, I'd recommend it to anyone and everyone.
PCA SKIN Pigment Gel Review #13
Mocha
Santa Clarita, CA
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Top 50 Contributor
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

Amazing

-November 12, 2010
I have dark skin, and tried different products to fade acne blemishes. This is amazing. My face glows. Even my aesthetician at the spa noticed.
PCA SKIN Pigment Gel Review #14
rija
Cons: harsh/abrasive
1 out of 5
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
Age Group:Under 25
Gender:F
Skin Type:normal

USELESS

-October 21, 2010
This product is terribly overrated. makes your skin look and feel like drivel.
PCA SKIN Pigment Gel Review #15
Luci
1 out of 5
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
Top 250 Contributor
Age Group:45-54
Gender:F

Didn't work for me

-October 20, 2010
I finished the entire bottle and I still have brown spots.
PCA SKIN Pigment Gel Review #16
p8tty
milwaukee wisconsin
Pros: absorbs quickly
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
Age Group:45-54
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination
-October 4, 2010
I used this product 1 month before my wedding and it lightended my brown spots up noticeably. I have always had a problem especially around the mouth, the cheek area near the hairline and down my neck. My hairdresser said my skin was looking very clean and the texuture and color were more uniform. I was very careful to wear SPF during the day and to try not to by in the sun without protection. otherwise I knew I would just be chasing my tail. It worked wonders.
PCA SKIN Pigment Gel Review #17
SpinningRN
San Diego, CA
Pros: smooth texture, absorbs quickly
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Images
(click to zoom)
User submitted photo
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

A-M-A-Z-I-N-G

-September 6, 2010
I've never been compelled to write a review of any product, but OMG, this is the best thing ever. I bought this with a other PCA products (pigment bar, blemish bar, bpo 5% cleanser, smoothing toner, gentle exfoliate, and SPF 25 hydrator moisturizer). Honestly, within 3 days, I noticed a change in my skin and within a week and a half, almost all of my dark spots from acne had faded ( I am African- American, so the spots are very noticeable).
've been telling all my friends and family that have problem skin about PCA.
I will admit, it did "sting" my skin at first, but after the first few days, I was fine. I did have peeling of the skin (which was pretty mild) and redness. PCA products are amazing!!!!!
PCA SKIN Pigment Gel Review #18
Spontaneous
USA
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle
Cons: stings a little
3 out of 5
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value 
1 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5

Not Sure

-August 16, 2010
I love serums but not sure about this one. I have SPOTS and need to get rid of them. I hoped this product would work. Didn't do anything for the spots but I'll use it till it's gone anyway. Stings a little when applied so that makes you think it's doing something. I won't buy again. Good luck to you!
PCA SKIN Pigment Gel Review #19
alim
Los Angeles
Pros: lightweight, absorbs quickly, great under makeup
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:Under 25
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily
-August 1, 2010
I have had acne for years and one of my main problems is that I tend to pigment very easily, even from the smalest breakout. My facialist suggested I start using PCA Pigment Gel and I found that this product not only works well to fight existing hyper-pigmentation, but also helps to quickly calm existing acne (and therefore lessening the buildup of new pigment).
Though it's a fairly expensive product, I use a very thin layer over most of my face twice a day (as its a fairly strong product, I find this is all I need) and I have only gone through about a 1/3 of the bottle in a month. And most of all, it definitely works as a great spot treatment and pigment fighter.
My face has cleared substantially since I have started using this product and I have definitely tried my fair share of gels and tonics that have promised to peel, fade, and shrink acne and acne pigment.
Well worth the money!
PCA SKIN Pigment Gel Review #20
BrooklynSquirrel
Brooklyn, NY
Pros: works
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Definitely works! So impressed~

-April 24, 2010
I've been trying to get rid of this horrendous brown spot (result from picking a huge pimple) by my temple for yrs. I spent $ on laser therapy. It faded little bit, but it came back wi/ revenge. The day when my friend goes, 'what 's that? Looks like a tattoo.' Omg! The spot got 2 go!!!
After reading reviews, I chose PCA pigment gel. I used it day/night religiously by dabbing a layer only on the spot. (afterward C-Quench and protecting hydrator)
It definitely stung. It darkened and turned my spot into a dried up scab. It reminded me of the laser treatment I had. The spot definitely looks faded after the scab peeled. So far I am so happy with the result that I'll continue with its treatment and try out other PCA skin care. This save me $ from laser treatment for sure~ : )
1 2 3 4 next>>
Copyright © 2014 SkinStore.com