ratings and reviews

Customer Reviews for OC Eight Professional Mattifying Gel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SkinStore.

OC Eight Professional Mattifying Gel

Shine, without looking shiny.
Average Customer Rating:
4.05 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
10 of 12(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
OC Eight Professional Mattifying Gel Reviews
OC Eight Professional Mattifying Gel Review #1
SisqB
Northern California
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, gentle, really works!!!
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Top 50 Contributor
Age Group:55+
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

Fabulous for oil control

-July 25, 2011
FINALLY, someone has made a mattifier that actually works on my oily skin! This product kept my face matte despite a hot day. It goes on easily, sets quickly, and is an excellent primer for makeup. It's not tinted, but it does seem to even out skin tone if you want to wear it without makeup.
This has become an immediate must-have for my skin care regimen. I can't recommend it highly enough!
OC Eight Professional Mattifying Gel Review #2
SMC53
Seattle
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, gentle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
Age Group:55+
Gender:M
Skin Type:oily

Love it!

-April 4, 2011
I've tried many drug-store products to help keep my shine down and this one is the best so far! I like how it goes on smoothly and easily plus it really works. It's amazing how many anti-shine products actually make my face look more oily, but OC Eight gives me that non-oily look I really appreciate.
OC Eight Professional Mattifying Gel Review #3
lydie
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value 
2 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
-March 21, 2011
This product gives a very nice matte finish to your skin.
OC Eight Professional Mattifying Gel Review #4
Prestidigitator
San Francisco CA
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, doesn't look artificial
Cons: somewhat pricey
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Top 100 Contributor
Age Group:45-54
Gender:M
Skin Type:combination

Best choice for mattifier

-October 21, 2010
I've tried them all, and this is the best mattifier for a guy with oily or shiny skin. It doesn't look as matt as Peter Thomas Roth Mattifier, but the PTR made me look like a wax museum dummy in photographs (oddly, not in the mirror). The OC8 is completely invisible, and doesn't look artificial. I think it also probably helps to prevent breakouts.
OC Eight Professional Mattifying Gel Review #5
lulum
Pros: smooth texture, gentle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

Finally a shine control prouct that doesn't burn

-September 23, 2010
I've tried a couple of other products and they all burned my skin. This is the only one that doesn't burn. I have very oily skin and this controlled the shine from morning until a couple hours after lunch. It went on smoothly and didn't pill when applied over my sunscreen. Worth every penny!
OC Eight Professional Mattifying Gel Review #6
MinCT
Pros: gentle, lightweight, smooth texture
Cons: sticky
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5

Excellent for oily skin.

-March 5, 2010
I use this product on top of Cosmedicine Medi-Matte before applying makeup. I have EXTREMELY oily, acne-prone skin.
This product is a small miracle. Yes, you still get oily, but not NEARLY as much as without it. It helps to keep my skin clear, my makeup in place, and oiliness under control. It also fills in any enlarged pores for a very smooth look.
It's important to let this dry completely before applying makeup.
Yes, it's expensive, but a little goes a long way. LOVE IT!
OC Eight Professional Mattifying Gel Review #7
335i
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:M

Excellent Product!

-January 21, 2010
This controls my oily skin for 24hrs or more. The trick for me is to put it on and then blow dry it. It'll turn somewhat white, but then you just keep your face on some steam for a couple of seconds (repeat a couple of times if necessary) and the white dissapears. Try this method, it works. I literally could not go out without this product on because my skin is so oily.
OC Eight Professional Mattifying Gel Review #8
Kwon
Salisbury, NC
Pros: absorbs quickly, gentle, lightweight
Cons: does not last long enough
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

Good Purchase.

-November 27, 2009
I have been using this product for a little more than a month. It works well but only last about 3 hours with each application. I feel like I spend all day reapplying this product. Does help with oiliness and evening out the skin tone. Will purchase again.
OC Eight Professional Mattifying Gel Review #9
Jenga207
Maine
Pros: lightweight, smooth texture
1 out of 5
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value 
1 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use 
3 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

Didn't Work

-November 20, 2009
This didn't really do anything at all for me. It didn't make the shine *worse* but it didn't cut back on the oily skin either. I thought this was supposed to be the best product for oil control so I am disappointed and not sure what to try now.
OC Eight Professional Mattifying Gel Review #10
chickadee
Minnesota
Pros: lightweight
Cons: does not control oil at all
1 out of 5
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use 
1 out of 5
Age Group:45-54
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily
-October 26, 2009
I was so hopeful when the skinstore rep recommended this product. My skin is oily within 15 minutes of washing. This product did nothing and actually made my skin oilier. I am going to try dermadoctor tease zone - maybe that will work.
OC Eight Professional Mattifying Gel Review #11
Avery
Alabama
Pros: absorbs quickly, gentle, lightweight, smooth texture
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

Best oil absorbing product I have ever used!

-July 12, 2009
I have used this product for years and recommend it to everyone I know that has oily skin. I have been on acne medication for over 10 years and even tried acutane. OC Eight has truly been a miracle product for me. I use it every day on my T-zone under my make up and it keeps me shine free for hours. My skin is very oily so I still have to use blotters, but only once or twice a day as compared to every hour before I started using OC Eight. And it helps me to not break out. It is by far the best product for my oily skin I have ever used.
OC Eight Professional Mattifying Gel Review #12
Shawno
California
Pros: controls oil, reduces shine
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Top 10 Contributor
Age Group:25-34
Gender:M
Skin Type:oily

The best Mattifying Gel out there

-May 26, 2009
My favorite men’s product is OC Eight Mattifying Gel. I have extremely oily skin and couldn’t find anything to control it. It got to the point where my eyes would begin burning if I didn’t wash the oil from my face. My best friend then recommended I try an oil-controlling product such as OC Eight. I must say, it has truly made my life easier! I can go a good 4+ hours without getting oily and even at that point, I still don’t look shiny as I did before. Now, I don’t have to wash my face every couple of hours and can go through a day without feeling that burning sensation in my eyes! Since using the mattifying gel, I have tried many others and OC Eight is by far the best! No other oil-control product is comparable to this, and I am so thankful to have found something that works more than I ever expected or thought possible!
OC Eight Professional Mattifying Gel Review #13
Sue C.
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Really Works!!!

-October 23, 2008
Best product I've tried. Really kept skin shine free for hours without dryness. Perfect as a primer for makeup. Rather expensive but worth it to me.
OC Eight Professional Mattifying Gel Review #14
Cheryl
1 out of 5
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5

I should have known better...

-September 30, 2008
I used this once and I broke out almost immediately. It makes sense that if you have oily skin putting a product on it that keeps it from being shiny would BLOCK YOUR PORES. It took me a week to get my skin back in order. Sigh.
OC Eight Professional Mattifying Gel Review #15
lawanda
3 out of 5
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5

Okay

-June 23, 2008
This product is okay, but not 100% effective. If you have a very oily t-zone for instance, this product will help probably better than anything that you have probably used in the past, but it is not 100% so you will still need blotting papers, powder, etc.
OC Eight Professional Mattifying Gel Review #16
annie
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

OC Eight Professional Mattifying Gel

-May 13, 2008
I haven't found anything that works as well. It's great to mix with sunscreen. I wish it was cheaper (and if you are a long time fan, you know it used to cost $20. FOR THE SAME THING! ANyway, it's great stuff.
OC Eight Professional Mattifying Gel Review #17
Elizabeth
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

The Best!

-March 26, 2008
I am a product junkie...I have tried EVERYTHING! I have never found a product that reduces shine and oiliness to this degree. I have skin that gets oily within an hour or two of makeup application. OC Eight really, really reduces the shininess to my skin. It keeps me looking fresh and clean until dinner time. I LOVE OC Eight!
OC Eight Professional Mattifying Gel Review #18
Keysha
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

It really works!

-March 7, 2008
Because I have very oily skin, I've tried every mattifier I can think of, until my dermatologist gave me a sample of OC8. It works wonders on controling oil & keeping you shine free through the day. I'll definitely be buying again.
OC Eight Professional Mattifying Gel Review #19
Dave
2 out of 5
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5

Didn't Like

-January 30, 2008
I had read the reviews on this product and ordered; however, after using for a week noticed no real difference in oily areas and broke out.
OC Eight Professional Mattifying Gel Review #20
kawaii
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Beyond expectation!!

-December 14, 2007
I wear this product everyday and I don't look shiny anymore. Works well on T zone, my pores even look smaller, a bit dry on cheeks though.
Copyright © 2014 SkinStore.com