ratings and reviews

Customer Reviews for Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Replenishing Moisture Duo

Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Replenishing Moisture Duo

Balances moisture levels, delivering youthful shine and silkiness.
Average Customer Rating:
4.81 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 17 Answers
Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Replenishing Moisture Duo Reviews
Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Replenishing Moisture Duo Review #1
WhiteRose
Pros: daily use, pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Gender:F
Hair Type:dry
Hair Color:brunette

Best I've Tried

-July 24, 2013
My hair was very dry and dull due to meds I take. Every time I needed shampoo and conditioner I would buy something different because nothing really helped. So when I came across Alterna I decided to give it a go. It made my hair so soft and so very silky, no more tangles. That was about 3 or 4 years ago and I keep coming back for more. Another amazing product is the Caviar Overnight Hair Rescue. Works so well with this set, I couldn't believe how beautiful my hair is. Even if you don't get this, or this set doesn't work for you, I still recommend the Hair Rescue.
Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Replenishing Moisture Duo Review #2
Luvlilady
Los Angeles
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color
Cons: doesn't detangle
3 out of 5
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value 
2 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Top 250 Contributor
Age Group:55+
Gender:F
Hair Type:chemically treated
Hair Color:blonde

Not magic for me

-September 13, 2011
I was very excited to try these products based on the glowing reviews, but I'm sorry to say the pixie dust didn't do it for my locks. I have med-long fine, thick hair that I color every two weeks (roots only) and I'm in my late 50's so the "Anti-Ageing" struck a cord with me as my hair had been looking lifeless. I thougt my hair looked a bit shinier after using it for a week (two shampoos), but each time the moisturizer failed to detangle my hair and I had to use a lot of serum to get my knots combed out.
I went back and looked at the most current reviews and many of the women that loved these products were brunettes with self described curly or frizzy hair. Before I started dying my hair I was a natural blonde with fine thick hair so I'm wondering if this doesn't work better on brunettes, just a thought.
Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Replenishing Moisture Duo Review #3
DRyan327
Frisco, Texas
Pros: daily use, pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, leaves hair silky shiny
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Top 250 Contributor
Age Group:55+
Gender:F
Hair Type:chemically treated
Hair Color:brunette

Love this shampoo and conditioner

-September 6, 2011
Love this shampoo and conditioner, wish it wasn't so much...but it is definately worth it.
Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Replenishing Moisture Duo Review #4
Leilani
Honolulu
Pros: daily use, pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, no residue, silky shiny hair
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:45-54
Gender:F
Hair Type:curly
Hair Color:brunette

The best shampoo and conditioner out there

-August 12, 2011
I have never written a product review and often have wondered if they were fake, but I would feel so bad for not taking the time to share that this is the best shampoo/ conditioner on the market. I have unruly, extremely curly hair that is damaged due to years of straightening, coloring and living in a high heat/high humidity environment (Hawaii). You should also know that my mother is a hair stylist and I have tried every trick there is to obtain shiny, beautiful hair. So, recently, I finally broke down and spent the extra money to purchase Alterna Caviar and the results have been unbelievable!! I am not saying that I no longer have to flat iron my hair, but my hair is the most shiny, soft and manageable that it has ever been, and it has extended my color beyond my normal cycle. In the one month since I have used this product, I have also been stopped several times by friends and acquaintances telling me how beautiful my hair is and telling me that they love the cut, even though I haven't cut it at all! Please, please just spend the extra money and buy the product. The extra cost will be quickly absorbed by less trips to the salon and much less waste buying and throwing out products that don't deliver. I will never use another product again :)
Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Replenishing Moisture Duo Review #5
stellabella
Australia
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, a little goes a long way
Cons: bottle opening/closing is odd.
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use 
3 out of 5
Top 250 Contributor
Age Group:45-54
Gender:F
Hair Type:curly
Hair Color:brunette

Moisturises and smell nice too

-July 21, 2011
This was my first time trying Alterna hair care products. I was looking for a natural product and this duo happened to be on sale. I was pleased with the moisturising effects and pleasant fragrance. One needs only a small amount for lots of creamy suds. I have fine, curly, shoulder-length, colour-treated hair that I wash twice weekly. I plan to try the Alterna Hemp line next time for comparison. The only thing I wasn't keen on was the way the containers open and close.
Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Replenishing Moisture Duo Review #6
Jelly
Phoenix
Pros: maintains hair color, smooth, super shiney
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Top 100 Contributor
Age Group:45-54
Gender:F
Hair Type:chemically treated
Hair Color:blonde

LOVE this

-June 8, 2011
I was using Pureology shampoo & conditionioner that I purchased from my hairdresser. Over time my colored hair had become shineless and dry, depite my salon expensive shampoo being especially formulated for colored hair. I hated my hair.
I belived that I was buying the best, and my hair was just a reflection of my age. I tried Alterna because it came as a sample with an order of some skin care items. After the first use- I was hooked, I never going back to Pureology. I just made my 3rd reorder of the sampoo and conditioner set.
My hair now is so shiny and smooth, it 's almost blinding in the sunlight. Yes, this is expensive stuff- $30 for 8 oz, but it is worth every penny.
Try it, you wont be disappointed
Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Replenishing Moisture Duo Review #7
Lulii
NY
Pros: daily use, pleasant fragrance, leaves hair silky, hair is frizz-free after blow drying
Cons: none!
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:Under 25
Gender:F
Hair Type:normal
Hair Color:black

Nothing compares to this, literally

-May 1, 2011
i love trying new products, and i'm extremely picky about what i like.. i have never paid much attention to hair shampoos and conditioners because i felt that they all did the same thing.. my hair has been extremelyyy dry for some reason, very dull and even when straightened it falls straight like straw, and has no movement or shine to it.. i ordered the shampoo and conditioner duo, and literally after ONE use, my hair changed.. i know u hear that alot in commercials and reviews, but it literally CHANGED it went from a 5/10 to an 8 in one use.. i just used it again and id rate my hair a 9/10, and i know it'll keep getting better (it says results accumulate). im so amazed at the results, my hair feels like its wrapped in silk.. i blow dried it and it went straight, with 85% less frizz than usual.. not only that but i run my fingers through it and it feels SO soft! even when looking at the mirror i can see a huge difference just in how healthy it looks. i really don't like it when people's reviews over-talk the product but for a shampoo and conditioner, this is amazing. i even use hair oils and masks (even used Wen) and nothing compares to this.. the smell, the freshness, the smoothness, it looks so healthy. also, when i straighten my hair it usually frizzes by the next day, this stayed smooth and shiny until my next wash. a MUST have!
Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Replenishing Moisture Duo Review #8
EmGo
Westminster, CO
Pros: daily use, pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, goddess-like hair
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Hair Type:dry
Hair Color:brunette

As I used this, I swear I heard Angels singing.

-February 11, 2011
I really did.
I have long, thick, usually dry hair, which is wavy, and knots really easily when straight.
Not anymore. After spending 3 years as a loyal Kerestase fan, I am now obsessed with Caviar. I also used their over night treatment.
My hair is ridiculously shiny, right up until the day I wash it. I find I don't need to wash my hair as much. My hair no longer knots. My hair color looks better than it did the day I left the salon. My hair is manageable and easy to style now.
Not that it matters, this product smells AMAZING! Even with alot of hair, I find that I didn't require alot of product.
By this. Become the person who gives others hair envy.
Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Replenishing Moisture Duo Review #9
NJDiva
NJ
Pros: pleasant fragrance
Cons: weighs hair down
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Top 100 Contributor
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Hair Type:oily
Hair Color:brunette

Good, but not great

-November 26, 2010
The shampoo and conditioner set was a nice combo. I like the nice scent and texture of the shampoo. However, it didn't do much for me. The hair wasn't any shinier and any softer than after using other brands. I have fine highlighted hair and although this set did provide nice conditioning, it ended up being too rich for my hair. A
Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Replenishing Moisture Duo Review #10
sherri0811
north carolina
Pros: daily use, pleasant fragrance
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Age Group:45-54
Gender:F
Hair Type:limp/fine/thin
Hair Color:brunette

the BEST stuff!!

-November 1, 2010
LOVE this shampoo and conditioner! I have tried alot of shampoos but this one is my favorite. They both leave my hair so soft...without weighing it down!!
Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Replenishing Moisture Duo Review #11
SaraSabrina
Williamsburg, VA
Pros: daily use, pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Hair Type:curly
Hair Color:brunette

Worth It!!

-October 27, 2010
I've had trouble over the years with shampoos and conditioners making my hair sticky, dry or weighing it down. I had purchased a different product to try, and when towel drying my hair, it felt dried out and sticky at the same time, which is bizarre. Luckily, Skinstore had included a sample of the Alterna Caviar Moisture duo in the box. I went right back in the shower, desperate to try anything to fix my hair. The Caviar worked better than I could have ever hoped. Not only did the sticky come out, but it conditioned the dry and made my hair feel smooth and silky. I have very fine, curly hair and this set allows it to curl nicely without frizz or flyaways. My hair looks better than it ever has! I wish I had these products as a teenager, they could have saved a lot of tears! Don't let the price put you off; the set lasts forever and it is the best money you'll ever pay. And if you don't agree, the Skinstore return policy is the best. But I'll bet you don't have to use it.
Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Replenishing Moisture Duo Review #12
sunnybee
New York, NY
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Hair Type:damaged

Amazing

-August 8, 2010
I have the worst hair in terms of volume, split ends and just dull lifeless looks. I got a sample of this product from skin store. In just one try, my hair looked and felt like never before. Soft, shiny, smooth, and completely new! I already bought this product and have a feeling am going to get addicted.
Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Replenishing Moisture Duo Review #13
Ammerie
CT
Pros: pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Hair Type:dry
Hair Color:brunette

total change in texture

-July 31, 2010
I received a sample of these products and just used them this morning. After one use, my hair was easier to style and felt so soft and bouncy...I am switching ASAP! Works SO much better than the stuff I bought from my stylist- I will have to clue her in!
Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Replenishing Moisture Duo Review #14
AZgirl
Prescott, AZ
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Top 100 Contributor
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Hair Type:chemically treated
Hair Color:brunette

My 42 yr old hair looks like a 25 yr old's!!

-July 21, 2010
This is the first review I've ever written for a shampoo! I got a sample of this and was blown away at the change it made in my hair. I have been using oils and serums on the ends to try to deal with the dryness and split ends, but to no avail. One use of this shampoo/conditioner and my hair looked as shiny, healthy and full of bounce as if I was 25 again!
A little goes a long way with this product, which makes the high price tag a little easier to bear. If you have aging or overprocessed hair, this stuff is worth every penny.
Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Replenishing Moisture Duo Review #15
mikaboots
Seattle, WA
Pros: daily use, pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Hair Type:dry
Hair Color:black

The search is over!

-May 5, 2010
I have tried oh so many many shampoos all my life. I'm 40 years old and my hair is frizzy and dry on the ends but can be oily on the roots. Alterna shampoo and conditioner keep my hair clean and moistured and not frizzy. I got hooked when Skinstore sent me a sample last year. I haven't been using anything else but Alterna. I thought the price was steep in the beginning, but you only need to use half the amount you use with other brands so it turns out to be not a bad deal at all. In addition, no animal testing was done for this product. I love love love Alterna.
Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Replenishing Moisture Duo Review #16
alex50
new york, ny
Pros: delivers as stated
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Top 50 Contributor
Age Group:45-54
Gender:F
Hair Type:damaged
Hair Color:brunette

silky-soft without flyaway frizz.

-May 2, 2010
All stated in reviews is true.
Fabulous results at first and continued use. I have a sensitive scalp prone to drandruff and it works in combination with my treatment products; Cliniderm and Nizoral.
This is a treat to use; spoil yourself.
Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Replenishing Moisture Duo Review #17
hope4thebest
southern california
Pros: daily use, pleasant fragrance, maintains hair color, truly smooths appearance of damaged hair
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Hair Type:damaged
Hair Color:brunette

* this really DOES work miracles!!! *

-April 21, 2010
I never write reviews, but this product deserves it!!! my hair is very damaged from over processing with tons of highlights. I finally decided to go back to my natural dark brown hair but haven't wanted to cut the length- so underneath the demi dark brown hair color is still that damaged blonde hair. This alterna shampoo and conditioner have made a HUGE difference in the way my hair looks and feels. If my situation sounds familiar to any of you, you know that really damaged hair does not lay silky smooth without adding lots of product- serum- and flat ironing. The first time i used these products, I showered in the evening and the next morning my hair was soft and smooth-- where normally i would wake up to a frizz ball of hair and frayed ends.
The positive results from these products showed up immediately but every time I use them, I feel like my hair looks better and better. My demi color is staying in tact and my damaged hair is looking smoother and repaired. Previously I was using the Enjoy luxury shampoo/cond but I think this duo from Alterna has given me much better results- fuller, shinier, smoother hair.
Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Replenishing Moisture Duo Review #18
DAWN
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

THE BEST!!!!!!

-April 29, 2008
I have been a stylist for over 17 years and had at any given time at least 4 different kinds of shampoo and conditions in my bathroom. I used this shampoo and I can tell you there is nothing that comes close and I've used it all. This is the only shampoo in my bathroom now and its one of my top selling products in my salon. Sometimes you really do get what you pay for and this is one of those things. Enjoy, you won't regret it.
Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Replenishing Moisture Duo Review #19
Barb
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

wow

-December 9, 2007
This is my new favorite product! I just tried a sample and am totally sold. I never thought I would spend this much, but I think I might be worth it!
Alterna Caviar Anti-Aging Replenishing Moisture Duo Review #20
Judy
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Moisture at it's best

-December 8, 2007
I really never expected this to be as good as it is. I have tried many "moisturizing” shampoos and conditioners. But nothing likes this. A little goes a long way. My hair has never looked or felt better. It was just what my aging hair needed. It will give your hair a real drink of moisture.
1 2 next>>
Copyright © 2013 SkinStore.com