ratings and reviews

Customer Reviews for SkinCeuticals Physical UV Defense SPF 30

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SkinStore.

SkinCeuticals Physical UV Defense SPF 30

Non-chemical sunblock contains two non-irritating active ingredients safe for use on all skin types.
Average Customer Rating:
4.185 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
SkinCeuticals Physical UV Defense SPF 30 Reviews
SkinCeuticals Physical UV Defense SPF 30 Review #1
WindyCityPam
Chicago, IL
Pros: non oily/greasy
Cons: doesn't absorb well, leaves white residue
2 out of 5
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use 
1 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

I hate this product!

-April 9, 2011
After reading so many great reviews of this product in magazines, and I even find out that the PA at my dermatologist office loves this product. Supposedly it's great for greasy skin. That's about the only this product has going for it. I have oily skin, and most sunscreens exacerbate the problem. This stuff doesn't turn me into an oil slick.
Also, I don't know how effective it is as a sunscreen. I mostly used it in Chicago during the winter. I used it for a week in Arizona, and I swear some of my brown patches near my eyes started reappearing. Not a good indicator that the product is working 100%. However, I did not burn.
I think the cons outweigh that only pro.
1) The product has a very thick, paste like consistency. It is difficult to apply and it does not absorb well. (The problems absorbing may be due to the fact that I put this on after apply Finacea and then Kinerase lotion.) Regardless, this is unacceptable for the price.
2) Since the product does not absorb very well, it ends up turning my face white. Basically, it leaves a white residue. I am already fair skinned, and this stuff makes me look like a ghost.
3) I find it difficult to apply makeup on top of the sunscreen, unless I wait a long period of time to allow the sunscreen to absorb.
4) On the back of the tube, it states that the sunscreen must be reapplied every 2 hours. Because of that fact, this is not a good everyday sunscreen to wear under makeup. If I'm reapplying every 2 hours, I'm usually outside somewhere and not wearing makeup. This may not be a problem for some people, but I live in a city where I walk and take public transit. So I almost constantly exposed to the sun.
SkinCeuticals Physical UV Defense SPF 30 Review #2
shells2grlzs
Palmyra, PA
Pros: absorbs quickly, gentle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:sensitive

Great sunscreen for rosacea

-September 21, 2010
My dermatologist sells this at her office.It was recommended to me for my oily/rosacea/sensitive skin.I have had many allergic reactions to the wrong skincare products so I was reluctant to try this.My dr. told me it is very important to use a spf especially becouse I have rosacea and I'm very fair.It's not greasy and my mineral makeup goes on well over this.No sunburns since I started using this and I walk daily.A little pricy but well worth it.
SkinCeuticals Physical UV Defense SPF 30 Review #3
sbmc
Short Hills, NJ
Pros: lightweight, gentle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:sensitive

great sunscreen

-June 4, 2010
after trying many sunscreens for daily use, i stumbled upon this wonderful sunscreen. it works well for my combination, very sensitive skin which is highly allergic to all of the chemical sunscreen ingredients that are out there. as others have mentioned, though, a light make-up on top of the sunscreen is needed to even out the minimal white-out effect of the sunscreen.
SkinCeuticals Physical UV Defense SPF 30 Review #4
DT
Mass
Pros: absorbs quickly, gentle, lightweight, smooth texture
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:45-54
Gender:F
Skin Type:sensitive

The Best for Rosacea

-September 20, 2009
Most excellent sunscreen. It's important to use sunscreen for my roseaca everyday and I've been using this product for the last 3 years and will continue. Doesn't irriate my skin and is non greasy/sticky. Just love it.
SkinCeuticals Physical UV Defense SPF 30 Review #5
Teri
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

The best

-September 26, 2008
I've used this sunscreen for over 4 years now and LOVE it. I have hyper-pigmented skin and whenever I simply step into the sun I get brown spots on my fact. This sunscreen has completely stopped that. I wear it every single day and don't have spots anymore! The zinc in it is actually a healing mineral and good for your skin. Great to wear alone or with makeup.
SkinCeuticals Physical UV Defense SPF 30 Review #6
Jamie
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Love it!

-August 9, 2008
I love this moisturizer with SPF30!! I've been searching high and low for a good high SPF. I also liked the Daily Defense, SPF20 but found the octinoxate made my face sting while in the sun. So, I switched to this, all-physical sunscreen and it's great. I only gave it 4.5 stars because it's a tad shiny but makeup covers that up pretty well. I didn't experience the "ghost face" others mentioned. It does go on white but if you blend it in and let it sink in, it goes away. Plus, makeup takes care of that too.
SkinCeuticals Physical UV Defense SPF 30 Review #7
TLC
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Holy Grail product

-April 23, 2008
I'm surprised at the negative reviews for this product--I love it! Totally non-irritating to my sensitive, prone-to-redness skin and I don't see "ghost face"...extremely blendable...very pleasant going on. I think I found my Holy Grail SPF!!
SkinCeuticals Physical UV Defense SPF 30 Review #8
A
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

love it

-December 31, 2007
I have combination oily skin around t-zone so I was a bit worried that it might cause acne-I get a few around that time of the month. But it's working fine. I can wear it over my pimples and it doesn't aggravate it. It feels slightly heavy going on but i feel like i'm getting a better protection. The white face effect disappears in about half an hour for me. I like this much better than clarins which I used to use because it was sooo lightweight. But with clarins, I found myself tanning which I didn't want since I'm prone to freckles. Definitely recommend this product.
SkinCeuticals Physical UV Defense SPF 30 Review #9
Grace
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Love it.

-October 4, 2007
I had to switch to all physical sunscreens this year due to newly developed skin irritation from chemical sunscreens. I've used the SkinCeuticals Physical UV Defense SPF 30 now everyday for about six months. I like the protection level -- it has a high enough percentage of both titanium dioxide and zinc oxide. What is wonderful is that, unlike the chemical sunscreens I had been using, it does not make my primer roll up into little beads. It goes on a little thick and white, but I have found that the whiteness tends to fade after a few minutes as the cream is absorbed, and for women, makeup will take care of any remaining whiteness. Lastly, it's quite matte, leaves much less of a sheen than the so-called non-oily chemical sunscreens. The only negative: because of its somewhat thick consistency, it doesn't spread easily for use on the delicate skin around the eyes. Otherwise, a great product!
SkinCeuticals Physical UV Defense SPF 30 Review #10
Heather
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

My Favorite Sunblock

-July 30, 2007
I have tried many sunblocks over the years and usually had problems with them stinging my skin and being too greasy. I don't have any of those problems with any of the SkinCeuticals sunblocks. The scent is very, very sublte too which is nice, especially when wearing it on my face. I wear it every day and I love it.
SkinCeuticals Physical UV Defense SPF 30 Review #11
Natalie
1 out of 5
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5

Spoooky!!!

-July 1, 2007
A little greasy and slightly irritating for my sensitive skin. It also make me look like a ghost and I am pretty fare to begin with. I couldn't stand it and had to wash it off.
SkinCeuticals Physical UV Defense SPF 30 Review #12
Gloria
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5

good for winter

-May 5, 2007
Works well as a sunblock andll as a moisturizer for my acne-prone, slightly dry skin in winter. My skin gets very oily in summer and this sunscreen is a little too thick for me during this time of year. wish it was waterproof or water resistant though. I just bought Obagi-C sunblock SPF 30 and it is very light, oil-free and has 9% non-whitening zinc oxide.
SkinCeuticals Physical UV Defense SPF 30 Review #13
W. Clark
3 out of 5
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5

WASTE OF MONEY

-May 1, 2007
I heeded the warnings about the whitening effect, but since I'm fair I thought I'd be OK. Wrong! They make a good product, in other respects, but if it looks ghost-like on me, I don't know who could use it.
SkinCeuticals Physical UV Defense SPF 30 Review #14
WWilliams
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Very pleased

-April 27, 2007
I have extremely sensitive skin, and there are very few products I can wear. This is the first sunscreen I have ever found that I can wear daily.
SkinCeuticals Physical UV Defense SPF 30 Review #15
Isabelle
3 out of 5
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5

Ghost Face

-March 21, 2007
I found the product to be too rich in consistency and very difficult to blend. I was also left with a "Ghost face." If you want a sunscreen w/complete coverage and is easy to blend (especially for tan/oily skin) I would recommend the Obagi sunscreen.
SkinCeuticals Physical UV Defense SPF 30 Review #16
Randon
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

THE BEST

-January 1, 2007
I have used all of the highend sunscreens on the market. Yes, all of them and this one is my favorite. I just wish it was a little more transparent.
SkinCeuticals Physical UV Defense SPF 30 Review #17
angela
2 out of 5
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5

face paint

-July 19, 2006
very disappointed. cannot have the best of both worlds. this sunscreen is light and non greasy, it also non irritating, but unless you want to walk around with a ghost face, this stuff is terrible. I actually had to wash it off, the white would not rub in!!
SkinCeuticals Physical UV Defense SPF 30 Review #18
kspakks
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Love it!

-June 22, 2006
Being Asian, I was a bit concerned about "kabuki face". But mixing with my mineral foundation works perfectly for me. Also, this is the first sunblock that didn't make my sinuses burn or my face itch. I also found that I need a light moisturizer under it otherwise my skin actually felt too dry. Great stuff!
SkinCeuticals Physical UV Defense SPF 30 Review #19
johanna
2 out of 5
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5

it works, but you look anemic

-February 25, 2006
I like the skinCeuticals line (especially the serum with ferulic acid), so I bought this mainly due to the fact that it is chemical-free, because chemical based blocks sting my eyes by the end of the day. However, I find myself not using it because it definitely gives your skin a white cast. I do feel it does a good job blocking the sun.
SkinCeuticals Physical UV Defense SPF 30 Review #20
Jen
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5

GOOD

-January 26, 2006
This sunblock it great for my sensitive skin. I have a tendency to breakout but this cream hasn't made me breakout. I wish it was a little less greasy but in all SPF 30 are heavier creams than SPF 15, but other than that a great sunblock, I wear it everyday.
1 2 next>>
Copyright © 2014 SkinStore.com