ratings and reviews

Customer Reviews for Topix Gly Sal 5-2 Pads

Topix Gly Sal 5-2 Pads

Specially formulated for oily and acne-prone skin.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Topix Gly Sal 5-2 Pads Reviews
Topix Gly Sal 5-2 Pads Review #1
Meegs23
New York, NY
Pros: absorbs quickly, fights acne, fights wrinkles
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

Skin Savior for Adult Acne!!

-April 22, 2013
I have been using this for 5 years at the recommendation of my dermatologist as a last effort before placing me on accutane. My face cleared up in less than two weeks and I haven't looked back...This is now the only anti-acne item I used in my skin care regiment and it works! As long as I use this once or twice a day I have ZERO breakouts. If I run out or skip a week the breakouts come back. The price is right and I have recommended this product to everyone I know. The added bonus is that the glycolic acid is also a wrinkle fighter, great for girls with adult acne in their 30's like me.
The glycolic acid can make your more prone to sunburn, so be careful in the summer. I make sure to use an SPF foundation for work days, and an oil free SPF lotion for the weekends under my foundation.
Also, start slow as this could sting a bit, cause sensitivity, and should not be used twice a day until your skin is used to the treatment.
Topix Gly Sal 5-2 Pads Review #2
psylocke
Burbank, CA
Pros: effective for adult acne
Cons: price
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

This product is the reason I shop at skinstore.com

-February 29, 2012
I first purchased these pads in the pharmacy at a hospital where I was interning approximately 10years ago(?)--I figured they must have be somewhat effective because a dermatologist who worked there ordered them for their patients (there were so many jars stocked).
I use these gly/sal 5-2 pads in tandem with a couple of Proactiv products based on the recommendation of a couple of my colleagues/friends who had very pronounced cystic acne. The regimen didn't "cure" their acne but it definitely decreased the severity (they showed me photos pre-Proactiv and gly/sal).
My acne seems responsive to benzoyl peroxide in addition to salicylic acid/glycolic acid. I also use sulfur spot treatments for breakouts. In addition, I have "combination skin" because I have eczema on my face.
When I stopped working at the hospital, I had to find a consistent source for the gly/sal 5-2 pads, and that was how I started shopping at skinstore ~5+ years ago (?)
When I couldn't consistently drive to the hospital to buy the gly/sal 5-2 pads, I would have intervals where I would stop using one of my usual products to evaluate whether my acne improved without the pads or Proactiv; however, I have determined I need to use these together consistently to decrease my acne (I wash with the Proactiv face wash, wipe my face with gly/sal pad, then apply Proactiv benzoyl peroxide repairing treatment. I also use a sulfur-based spot treatment at night.)
I have to be careful with the products I use since I also have eczema on my face and the pads don't burn my T-zone (no eczema there).
Long review, but this is the cornerstone product in my acne regimen. I've since recommended the gly/sal face wash to my husband (he doesn't seem to need benzoyl peroxide for his acne) and he's been using it for the past 3+ years. We hope this product line sticks around FOREVER.
Topix Gly Sal 5-2 Pads Review #3
klmack
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily
-July 20, 2011
Daily use of product keeps my skin clear of breakouts. Also minimizes pores.
Topix Gly Sal 5-2 Pads Review #4
JussJess
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

Saved my skin!!!

-April 16, 2011
I have battled acne since I was 15 years old and am now almost 30. I have tried everything from Proactiv to prescription treatments and antibiotics. A friend of has wonderful skin and she recommended the Gly-Sal products. They have truly changed my skin!!! I use the Gly-Sal 5-2 cleanser in the morning and evening and then follow with the 5-2 pads in the evening. After using the product for 3 weeks now my skin has cleared up. The milia on my cheeks are gone and I get far fewer cystic pimples. My pores look smaller as well. Seriously try this product; it will really help clear up acne.
Topix Gly Sal 5-2 Pads Review #5
anasazica
Montana
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, helps with wrinkles, evens out skin tone
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:45-54
Gender:F
Skin Type:sensitive

Not just for problem skin......

-October 19, 2010
Read about this in a magazine and I don't usually try items based on that.....but I decided to give it a try. Skinstore was the recommeded vendor and NOW I AM HOOKED! This is not "your Mother's acne treatment".....in fact I don't have acne but use it to even out my skin tone and the best part.....it reduces the fine lines around the mouth and corners of the eyes. Three years and counting and no one ever guesses my age correctly! Love it!
Topix Gly Sal 5-2 Pads Review #6
janap
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

Excellent choice for adult chronic acne

-August 7, 2009
Excellent price for an an excellent product. I am in my late 30s and have very oily skin/cystic acne. For the price and results, I highly recommend this product! It doesn't have a strong fragrance and I experienced little irritation when I first used it.
Topix Gly Sal 5-2 Pads Review #7
Neda
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

AMAZING!!

-September 9, 2008
I absolutely swear by these glycolic pads!! I've used it for years and have noticed a significant improvement in my skin ever since I started. I am a dermatology resident and recommend this to all my family, friends, and patients :)
Topix Gly Sal 5-2 Pads Review #8
nicole
3 out of 5
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5

very irritating

-August 10, 2008
If you have sensitive skin this may not be good for you. My skin got very red and burned for a few minutes after using. But it does make it feel ultra clean.
Topix Gly Sal 5-2 Pads Review #9
Courtney
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

want perfect skin?

-August 5, 2008
I started using this a year ago & totally cleared up my skin. I don't wash my face with anything in the shower, and when i get out, I rub 1 pad over my face and it feels so clean. I don't need a moisturizer (which makes me break out) or anything else. My skin is PERFECT!!
Topix Gly Sal 5-2 Pads Review #10
Lana
1 out of 5
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5

ACETONE?!

-August 29, 2007
I dont normally have very sensitive skin but my face immediately turned beet red and started to burn. I thought the tingling was normal and would subside but then I saw a distinct red line outlining exactly where I had used the product! I have used glycolic before so I was surprised. I also heard great things about this product, but was shocked to see ACETONE listed as the first ingredient on the jar....perhaps its more common than I know, but it seems entirely wrong to be putting what is esentially a paint stripper on delicate faces!!! Hello nail polish remover!? If you do decide to try it, I would suggest a gentle cleanser beforehand and to try it at night.
Topix Gly Sal 5-2 Pads Review #11
Leia
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Amazing!

-August 19, 2007
I use one Topix 5-2 pad everynight after I wash my face with the 5-2 cleanser and I haven't broken out since! It keeps my face acne free without making it too dry or sensitive. I highly recommend the entire line!
Topix Gly Sal 5-2 Pads Review #12
Madison
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

It Really Works

-July 29, 2007
I have used everything in the world to treat my break outs but this actually works. It doesn't dry out my skin (although all skin is different) and I get quick results.
Topix Gly Sal 5-2 Pads Review #13
Jennifer
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Love it!

-June 8, 2007
As my facialist says, "Your skin is very congested." These are great for those of us who need to constantly slough off dead skin cells and at a GREAT value!
Topix Gly Sal 5-2 Pads Review #14
Lena
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Very Effective

-June 5, 2007
These toner pads are a lifesaver! I'm in my 30's and still get breakouts... so I'm getting fine lines and still have blemishes - super fun! Anyhow, this product was recommended to me by my dermatologist. They have a great combination of glycolic and salycic acids (there is a stronger version but I prefer this one to use am and pm) which work to fight breakouts AND soften your fine lines. This product, with consistent usage, has really helped clear things up and is not overly drying.
Copyright © 2014 SkinStore.com