ratings and reviews

Customer Reviews for Philosophy Hope In A Jar

Philosophy Hope In A Jar

A world-renowned skin cream originally created for the medical market.
Average Customer Rating:
3.931 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
8
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
10
14 of 19(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 11 Answers
Philosophy Hope In A Jar Reviews
Philosophy Hope In A Jar Review #1
Minot8
Edgewater, Nj
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, fragrance free
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:55+
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Non-greasy

-March 21, 2013
I used to use a lot of Philosophy products but stopped slowly over the years. This night cream reminded me why I liked their products. This is a very light night cream which disappears into your skin, and while you don't feel greasy, your skin feels very smooth.
I've been using it for almost 2 weeks and am very happy with it . It is not as expensive as some of the other brands, but I don't see any difference.
Philosophy Hope In A Jar Review #2
ThatGuy
USA
Pros: lightweight, absorbs quickly, gentle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Top 50 Contributor
Age Group:25-34
Gender:M
Skin Type:combination

Use It Nightly

-December 14, 2012
I use this at night before I go to bed and for ThatGuy, it works well. After a couple weeks I could tell that my face was smoother and softer. Some people hate the Lavender smell, but I don't think it's overpowering. A little goes a long way with this and it goes on light as well as being non-oily/greasy. I'll continue to use it.
Philosophy Hope In A Jar Review #3
Lavenderstory
Arizona
Pros: smooth texture, absorbs quickly
3 out of 5
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Top 25 Contributor
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:sensitive

Nothing special

-December 6, 2012
Well, philosophy has always given me such an impression: better at giving the product a name than making the product particularly impressive...This one makes me feel the same way. It is okay, and moisturizes well, but nothing special. BTW, I have sensitive skin, and sometimes this product can get along with my skin, but sometimes not.
Philosophy Hope In A Jar Review #4
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, gentle
Cons: unpleasant smell
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:sensitive

Can't wait to use it but it smells awful

-November 29, 2012
Received this yesterday and was happy to start using it because I need to start taking care of my skin but I was put off my the smell. It's not very pleasant but perhaps I just need to get used to it.
Non greasy which I like and makes the skin feel great.
Philosophy Hope In A Jar Review #5
CaliRoseGardener
Phoenix, AZ
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle, soothing, firming, hydrating, great neck cream
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Top 10 Contributor
Age Group:45-54
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

Excellent staple

-July 3, 2012
There's nothing else like this on the market, anywhere. It's outstanding.
Philosophy Hope In A Jar Review #6
LaMariposaNegra
Hartford CT
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

My Face Feels Like Silk!!

-April 23, 2012
Hope In a Jar is saving my skin!! I use it nightly after my cleansing regimen, and I swear, my face feels like silk! The dry patches under my eyes are gone, and I feel like a couple of years have been taken off!! I have recommended skinstore.com to all my friends!
Philosophy Hope In A Jar Review #7
mbpgh
Pittsburgh
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, gentle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:55+
Gender:F
Skin Type:normal

Best moisturizer

-November 10, 2011
I am always amazed at how soft my 58-year old face feels when I apply Hope in a Jar after cleansing and exfoliating with Philosophy's Purity and Microdelivery Exfoliating Wash each evening. I prefer the regular Hope to the one for dry skin.
Philosophy Hope In A Jar Review #8
AussieAndi
Melbourne, Australia
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Love, love, love!

-August 30, 2011
This stuff is magic, works brilliantly to smooth & nourish my skin. My skin looks brighter and looks great without make up since using this cream, I think it is a MUST have! I love this pot size, it's a great travel size :)
Philosophy Hope In A Jar Review #9
Katie88
Natick, MA
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Number One Contributor
Age Group:Under 25
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Awesome moisturizer in travel size!

-August 4, 2011
I love these 2 oz jars! Hope in a jar is an excellent moisturizer. I love using it at night even though it works fine under makeup. This size is great for travel and great to test out the product!
Philosophy Hope In A Jar Review #10
Mini
Illinois
Pros: absorbs quickly, gentle
Cons: smells bad
2 out of 5
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use 
2 out of 5
Age Group:Under 25
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

Smells Very BAD

-June 7, 2011
After I opened it, I cannot leave it near me! It smells really bad! Once you put it on your face, it never goes away before you clean your face again!!!!!!!!!
Philosophy Hope In A Jar Review #11
Debbb7
Seminole, FL
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:55+
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Recommend!

-April 17, 2011
I bought this after seeing it on Oprah and needing a moisturizer that would do the job for maturing Floridian skin that is prone to breakouts (yes, ladies, I went through the Big M at 45 and still get acne....go figure). This product did initially break out my skin, but after two weeks of use, no more. And it actually moisturizes my neck, reducing the crinkle-look that is just starting. It emulsifies upon application, so a little goes a long way. If you try it, give it a chance. I like it so much I just ordered the4oz jar. I'm using it a.m. before LaRoche Posay Anthelios 60 sunscreen and p.m. before bed.
Philosophy Hope In A Jar Review #12
skinprotector
West Palm Beach, FL
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:55+
Gender:F
Skin Type:dry

Best Moisturizer Hands Down

-March 26, 2011
I keep trying other moisturizers out of curiosity, but I always come back to this one. No other moisturizer i have tried is this light. Your skin just drinks it in leaving behind a beautiful glow. My only beef has been the absence of SPF for day, but there is a new SPF version which, while a bit heavier, has many of the same qualities as the original. If you tried the SPF version awhile ago, the new one is a vast improvement over the old one, which had a somewhat greasy texture.
Philosophy Hope In A Jar Review #13
OldieButGoodie
Fort Worth, TX
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:55+
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Love this cream!

-October 26, 2010
I don't like the feel of a thick, greasy cream on my face. Hope In A Jar is the first facial cream I've found that moisturizes beautifully yet is very light and comfortable to wear.
Philosophy Hope In A Jar Review #14
skincarepro
Virginia Beach
Pros: smooth texture
3 out of 5
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value 
1 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Top 250 Contributor
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

No for me

-October 21, 2010
I did not notice any moisturizing effect on my skin. It would say that I even felt it dryer.
I did not like the smell much either. However, I did notice a slight exfoliation though.
Philosophy Hope In A Jar Review #15
tarbaby
Pros: lightweight
3 out of 5
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Top 250 Contributor
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Not for me

-October 20, 2010
On a quest for the perfect moisturizer for my combo, acne-prone skin, I tried this product. I experienced a breakout using this after a few times. I've not used it since and will continue my quest. The product does state it is for normal skin so perhaps for those skin types, this is a good product.
Philosophy Hope In A Jar Review #16
Lili
Australia
Pros: lightweight
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use 
3 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Good, but don't go near the eyes

-August 5, 2009
I have only been using this product for a week, so haven't seen any obvious results. I use it at night and my skin does feel nice in the morning, not greasy like some night creams. What I don't like is the strong smell, which smells like aromatherapy products. It stings if I get it too close to my eyes, and if I rub it onto my lips I end up with a bad taste in my mouth. I do like how I don't need to use too much of the product, and my skin does look and feel good.
Philosophy Hope In A Jar Review #17
voodoo
los angeles
Pros: absorbs quickly, gentle, lightweight, smooth texture
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

hope in a jar

-July 17, 2009
i love this product, i've notice my face looking smoother and my skin texture is nicer now than before use.
the smell does not bother me at all
i have started the jump start kit and and also like the vitamin c powder for am use with hope in the jar cream
i would recommended for those who has sensitive skin, it is very soothing
Philosophy Hope In A Jar Review #18
Rachel
Midwest
Pros: absorbs quickly, smooth texture
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Age Group:Under 25
Gender:F
Skin Type:sensitive

It's just...okay.

-April 14, 2009
I have to say I was nervous about trying this moisturizer, so many either do not hydrate enough or cause breakouts and added shine. This one, while it did not cause breakouts, only seemed to make a mild difference. I did notice my skin looking better, but I have to believe it is simply from adding extra moisture to my sunscreen-only regime. I did love the texture of this, rich yet light and spreadable-it sunk right in to my skin. The smell is a little off but it disappears fast and is no longer an issue for me. Overall I liked it and was happy it worked well with my sunscreen, but it needs something extra.
Philosophy Hope In A Jar Review #19
Freckles
Northeast US
Pros: absorbs quickly, gentle, lightweight
3 out of 5
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

Make-up optional is so ambiguous

-February 20, 2009
My sundamaged, wrinkling, acne-prone, approaching 40 skin got exactly what this cream claims, nothing exceptional. Finally, a product that delivers what it promises, save the "make-up optional" part. As if. Seriously, go back and read. This cream is for normal skin with few issues other than mild dryness & faith in antioxidants, which I do support. If that is you, then you will be very pleased. The value for the benefits - a very decent moisturizer for normal aging skin with possible long-term benefits, is great. I've never had issues w/product in my eyes or overpowering smell (which is love it or hate it). It just didn't work for me, which was an error in my judgment (even I got sucked into a promise of makeup optional). One note: I, and I see loyal followers, noticed the difference in product freshness/effectiveness when Philosophy started offering the larger size. The smell and color are "off" after using the larger size for a couple weeks.
Philosophy Hope In A Jar Review #20
Shawnah
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

glowing beautiful skin

-October 23, 2008
Is what you will get when you use this moisturizer. It's hands down the best around. Give it time to sink in and do it's job before applying makeup and you will reap the benefits. Glowing gorgeous skin. I've been using this over 6 years now.
1 2 3 4 next>>
Copyright © 2014 SkinStore.com