ratings and reviews

Customer Reviews for Philosophy The Present

Philosophy The Present

This product lays down a smoother layer of 'second skin' that smoothes out skin irregularities and fine lines.
Average Customer Rating:
4.115 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
6 of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Philosophy The Present Reviews
Philosophy The Present Review #1
ThatGuy
USA
Pros: blends well, good consistency, long lasting, good coverage
Cons: cakey/heavy
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Top 50 Contributor
Age Group:25-34
Gender:M
Skin Tone:light

Smooth Complexion

-December 14, 2012
So, ThatGuy might use this when he's going out at night. I have fair skin and some things on my face show easily. This really just evens out my complexion, but it also lightens up my face (think whiter). Some wrinkles go away and also blemishes. It's like a second skin over your face, and because of that it can feel heavy or cakey. Nothing wrong with a guy being vain!
Philosophy The Present Review #2
Sadie81
Benton, Pa
Pros: blends well, good consistency, long lasting, good coverage, easy to remove
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Hair Color:brunette
Skin Tone:medium
Eye Color:hazel
-July 24, 2011
Love how it blends away the uneven tones of my face even before I put on my powder foundation
Philosophy The Present Review #3
Kristen
New York, NY
Pros: blends well, long lasting, good coverage, easy to remove
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Hair Color:brunette
Skin Tone:medium
Eye Color:brown

Great product

-April 19, 2011
I found this product to do exactly what it describes. I put a thin layer over my moisturizer and under the Supernatural Powder and my skin comes out looking flawless! It covers my red, rosacea covered cheeks and makes my skin look airbrushed. It does not feel heavy at all. I only wait a couple of minutes before applying the Supernatural and it does not cake one bit!
Philosophy The Present Review #4
Ceecee
Cons: doesn't do what it claims
1 out of 5
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use 
1 out of 5

Worst purchase ever!

-October 11, 2010
Used this in conjunction with the philosophy airbrushed canvas foundation, only to find pores are bigger and fine lines more prominent, and foundation sticks to where it was applied and doesn't blend. Control shines just a tad. Now just sits in my make-up draw.
Philosophy The Present Review #5
NessInNYC
New York, NY
Pros: blends well, good consistency, long lasting, good coverage, easy to remove
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Top 250 Contributor
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Hair Color:brunette

Great product

-May 8, 2010
This is one of those products that works so well, you forget you need it, until the occasional day you forget to apply it.
I use it after moisturizer, but before foundation.
It creates a "canvas" for the face and helps fill in fine lines for smooth foundation coverage. It also feels like it creates a slight protective barrier for the face.
When I forget to apply this, my skin feels thinner and its lines are more apparent.
This product smells really nice too!
Philosophy The Present Review #6
TennisBabe
Boise, Idaho
3 out of 5
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use 
3 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Hair Color:blonde
Skin Tone:medium
Eye Color:green

Not sure what this is supposed to do

-December 7, 2009
I was hoping for a product that would do one, some, or all of the following: even my skin tone, make it easier to apply make-up, help the make-up last longer, and/or minimize pores. I didn't get any of these. The only use I can find for this product is wearing it alone when I work out since it's a tiny bit better than wearing nothing. The one time I tried wearing it alone in a regular context, a friend exclaimed, "Oh my gosh, I never noticed that you have freckles!" Hmm... not the reaction I was going for.
Philosophy The Present Review #7
stobk
Venice, CA
Pros: blends well, good coverage, easy to remove, long lasting
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:55+
Gender:F
Hair Color:blonde
Skin Tone:fair
Eye Color:blue grey

Great stuff!

-May 22, 2009
I love this stuff - especially if you don't want to wear make-up. It does feel a little heavy when you start putting it on, but that feeling quickly fades and all you can feel is soft, smooth skin. I just love it.
Philosophy The Present Review #8
mica6
Nashville TN
Pros: blends well, good coverage, long lasting
Cons: none
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Hair Color:red
Skin Tone:fair
Eye Color:green

THE PRESENT?..SHOULD BE THE "GIFT":)

-May 12, 2009
if you are looking for a product that give you the best possible canvas for your face..buy this...NOW. Working in the entertainment biz..I check out LOTS of products..but this one is amazing...it definitely is the best ever after moisturez and before foundation..the price is right and you just have to order it..it is amazing!!
Philosophy The Present Review #9
Melissa
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Love it! No more foundation needed!

-August 6, 2008
I've been one to never go to work without foundation on. I have oily skin with some acne scarring. I started using this about 6 months ago and haven't used anything else since. I use just this and then use a little concealor to hide my scarring and then I put loose powder on top. It gives me a nice matte look and I get compliments all the time. People always ask what makeup I use and they're surprised when I tell them none! Just the skin perfector! Now in the beginning I did try putting a liquid foundation over it. It was horrible! I also tried a powder foundation and a mineral foudnation. Those worked fine. But I've come to realize I don't need the foundation at all. Love this stuff!
Philosophy The Present Review #10
Carina
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Flawless

-June 6, 2008
This is one of my favorite products, and the best mattifier I've ever tried. Apply as a final step, then give it a few minutes to set before applying makeup – and WOW. Bye-bye pores. Hello smooth, even skin tone. I love it!
Philosophy The Present Review #11
Shan211
2 out of 5
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5

Not worth the $$

-April 4, 2008
I'm a 35 year old who loves Philosphy's skin care line, so I tried this product with high hopes. That hope being that I would be able to wear less makeup because my skin would look 'perfected'...WRONG! It did make my skin feel smoother after I first put it on, but other than that intial softness, I saw no benefit. I also waited more than 10 minutes to apply my makeup and when I did the skin perfector seem to 'cake-up' and flake off.
Philosophy The Present Review #12
Patricia
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Thee best!

-November 24, 2007
This product is one of the best i have every tried. It only takes a small amount to do the whole face. I warm it in between my hands first and it goes on smoothly to leave a lovely finish, perfect to wear on its own or under makeup. As a non makeup wearer, my skin just looks more smooth, radiant and healthy. The best so far from philosophy.
Philosophy The Present Review #13
Kathy
2 out of 5
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5

Not getting the hype

-September 5, 2007
I really like philosophy products so bought this with a positive bias. Frankly, I don't think it does much of anything...maybe it's my eyesight (or lack of)but this was a waste for me.
Philosophy The Present Review #14
Hope
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Raves from a

-July 5, 2007
Although I'm a girly girl, I have never liked wearing foundation - just lip gloss & eye makeup. This product gives me the finished look that I want without the feeling of being overdone.
Philosophy The Present Review #15
roxanne
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

loved it

-June 19, 2007
this product is great over hope in a jar and then covered with supernatural make-up. You could also do it alone. It gave my skin a smoother looking surface, minimizing pores and reducing appearance of fine lines. I have sensitive skin and this did not aggravate it but almost seemed to protect it.
Philosophy The Present Review #16
Beachbride322
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Best primer on the market!

-May 29, 2007
I was blown away at how wonderful this product works to fill in lines and pores!Even better,it smoothes out any acne scars (aka, pitts and ice pick scars)! What a great before makeup primer, better than Photo Finish by Smashbox! Well worth the money,as the tube contains enough for 60+ applications!
Philosophy The Present Review #17
Veronica
2 out of 5
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5

Just an ordinary moisturizer

-February 25, 2007
This did nothing for me. Just moisturizes and makes my face a bit less shiny. But it didn´t make my skin smoother and more flawless at all (I have combination skin with some acne scars). It was a bit "wax like", but that didn´t bother me.
Philosophy The Present Review #18
Chris
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Can't be without it!

-January 21, 2007
Best primer. I have combination skin and love it. The consistency is thick, however,I put a small amt. on the back of my hand then I smooth a thin layer over my entire face and neck. You have to give it a few minutes, but it will absorb. I use The Present clear powder under it in the summertime. In the winter I think it gives my face that added layer of proteciton against the cold. I can't say enough about it.
Philosophy The Present Review #19
Kate
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

great stuff!

-January 8, 2007
This has become one of my won't-be-without-it products! The premise seemed a bit odd to me - clear makeup?! - but I've used other primers so I was willing to give it a try. This is the only one I'll use now. It really will make your skin look better, even if you don't put anything over it. I only use powder foundations, like the supernatural, but I find that just translucent powder over it is just as good! Great on it's own, too. And very affordable! By the way - I also purchased On a Clear Day skin protector for problem skin - it's the exact same product! But at $25 for 2 oz vs. $15 for 1 oz, this is the better buy.
Philosophy The Present Review #20
Mary
3 out of 5
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5

Kind of heavy

-October 2, 2006
At first I thought it was great because it does smooth the skin. However, as it says, it is like "paving the way," creating a thin wax-like layer
1 2 next>>
Copyright © 2013 SkinStore.com