ratings and reviews

Customer Reviews for Philosophy When Hope Is Not Enough Serum

Philosophy When Hope Is Not Enough Serum

Helps fight the signs of aging associated with midlife.
Average Customer Rating:
3.864 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
2
9 of 12(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Philosophy When Hope Is Not Enough Serum Reviews
Philosophy When Hope Is Not Enough Serum Review #1
JJDba
Marietta, GA
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, gentle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:45-54
Gender:F
Skin Type:normal

Can't Live without this!

-September 17, 2013
Combine 4 drops of this with the C Turbo Boost powder and you will be amazed at how bright and fresh your face is. This combination has also helped with sun spots - most of mine are virtually gone because of the use of these 2 together.
Philosophy When Hope Is Not Enough Serum Review #2
sgc1
Deltaville, VA
Pros: lightweight, absorbs quickly, gentle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:55+
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

10 years younger!

-October 11, 2012
Recently, that's what a friend said I looked! I have been using Philosophy products for a couple of years, but the most addictive of all is the serum "When hope is not enough". It is a fine night moisturizer!
Philosophy When Hope Is Not Enough Serum Review #3
Katie88
Natick, MA
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Number One Contributor
Age Group:Under 25
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Amazing serum!

-August 4, 2011
I got this as a free deluxe sample and was skeptical. Now I love it. It is a serum that is absorbed into the skin almost instantaneously, so there's no grease and no dry-ness. Never makes my finicky skin break out. I'll buy this and use it every night as part of my anti-aging regimen!
Philosophy When Hope Is Not Enough Serum Review #4
Cakes
rural Ohio
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, gentle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:45-54
Gender:F
Skin Type:normal

I love this stuff!

-July 21, 2011
I've tried other serums,but have the best results with this one. It's light, but keeps my skin looking great! I'm 50, but have fewer lines on my forehead and around my eyes than some of my friends in their 30's! I hope Philosophy never stops making this.
Philosophy When Hope Is Not Enough Serum Review #5
wylie1204
Seattle
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle, effective
Cons: a little pricey
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Top 100 Contributor
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Favorite Serum

-January 21, 2011
I love the texture of this serum. It also is effective in lightening pigmentation and giving you a subtle glow. I actually like the scent. It's a nice clean herbal scent, nothing "rank, or vitamin like" about it in my opinion. The ingredients are top notch and it's light enough for my oily skin that I can layer other serums or sunscreen on top of it. There is absolutely NO residue which is really hard to find in a skincare product. Highly recommended!
Philosophy When Hope Is Not Enough Serum Review #6
dingogirl
El Dorado Hills, CA
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly
Cons: smells horrible
3 out of 5
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value 
1 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:dry

Good Product-Bad Smell

-November 9, 2010
So far, I have to say I like the Philosophy products, but have only been using them for about 1 week. The one thing I do not like, however, is the fragrance, especially When hope is not enough serum...really wish they'd do something about that.
Philosophy When Hope Is Not Enough Serum Review #7
brillantina
Houston, TX
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle
Cons: doesn't last much
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Top 50 Contributor
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Daily Basic

-October 25, 2010
I really love this serum!!! It's lightweight and not greasy and have seen some improvement since I started using it a few months ago.
The only thing I don't care for is that it doesn't last that much since it's to be used twice a day.
Philosophy When Hope Is Not Enough Serum Review #8
TKnCK
CHICAGO,IL
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle, easy to apply
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Top 10 Contributor
Age Group:55+
Gender:F
Skin Type:sensitive

BEST VALUE IN A SERUM- MUST HAVE

-October 22, 2010
Rather then using their booster C that they suggest , I apply first my dermalogica c concentrate serum, since I already have it. Over the vitamin c serum I apply when hope is not enough. My very dry skin easily absorbs both products. I do not have to add moisturizer and my skin just glows. To be honest If I didn't add the c in some form my skin would not be this radiant as have tried this product alone.My face has firmed a bit but at 57 I don't expect much more in results from an anti aging product like Philosophy. I use it because with the c my skin glows and can walk around with out make up. I'm still battling age but not using as active products to give my skin a well deserved break from my very harsh skin care routine
Philosophy When Hope Is Not Enough Serum Review #9
skincarepro
Virginia Beach
Pros: lightweight, absorbs quickly, gentle
1 out of 5
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value 
1 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Top 250 Contributor
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Not the serum I was hoping for

-October 21, 2010
After using the entire bottle, I did not notice any toning, firming or anti-wrinkle effect. It made my skin a little more moisture though.
Philosophy When Hope Is Not Enough Serum Review #10
trigirl
Chehalis WA
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, gentle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:45-54
Gender:F
Skin Type:sensitive

A Philosophy Basic

-October 19, 2010
I believe this was my second purchase from the philosophy line (after the microdelivery peel). Since I was approaching my 50th birthday, I began taking skin care a bit more seriously. Philosophy products in general never cease to amaze me. This serum is the foundation of the beautiful, radiant face that awaits you. It smooths and evens out my skin, so that their claim for 'make-up optional skin' really IS a worthy goal.
Philosophy When Hope Is Not Enough Serum Review #11
marshy
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, gentle
Cons: smells terrible
3 out of 5
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5

Worst smell for a face product ever

-October 5, 2010
Smell really matters to me and this smells like vitamins straight out of a bottle. I wouldn't be able to swallow it, and I can barely get it past my nose to use the product. So unlike anything else from Phiosophy. Disappointing.
Philosophy When Hope Is Not Enough Serum Review #12
ChelseaChi
Pros: absorbs quickly, lightweight
3 out of 5
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:dry

Not impressed

-July 16, 2009
Just a soso serum for simplely use, but works well togather with Booster C Powder.
Philosophy When Hope Is Not Enough Serum Review #13
Jeannie
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5

VERY GOOD.....

-December 31, 2008
I recently switched my skin care line back to Philosophy. I'm happy I did. This serum is extremely hydrating yet, not greasy at all. I truly enjoy this line of skincare. It's not harsh, yet shows results. Remember, don't expect results overnight! Most products show results within a month that you can truly notice.
Philosophy When Hope Is Not Enough Serum Review #14
Jessica
2 out of 5
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5

Not impressed

-June 12, 2008
It wasn't bad but it didn't appear to help
Philosophy When Hope Is Not Enough Serum Review #15
Kim in Richmond TX
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Nicest serum I've tried...

-May 4, 2008
I've tried a few firming and/or anti-wrinkle type serums in the last couple of years. This one has the best actives at a VERY reasonable price. It really helps with my fine lines and doesn't exacerbate my rosacea. I left off half a star because it isn't a lovely-smelling product. The odd (but not nasty) scent fades within a minute or 2 of application anyway... Serums with a lot of actives don't smell good without a lot of masking fragrance, and who wants that on their face anyway?
Philosophy When Hope Is Not Enough Serum Review #16
Jane
3 out of 5
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5

Ok, but Won't buy again

-November 9, 2007
I have combo skin, sensitive to AHA's. This stuff initially made my skin break out, so I reduced the frequency and mixed it with Hope is Not enough. Didn't really see spectacular results and I'm back to using my Clinique and Kinerase.
Philosophy When Hope Is Not Enough Serum Review #17
christina
2 out of 5
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5

it's not enough

-August 16, 2007
I call this serum "it's not enough", because it feels good putting it on, but I haven't noticed any difference (had been using it for over a month). I tried Olay's Regenerist Serum and instantly felt and saw results (have been using it about 2 weeks now). It's cheaper too!
Philosophy When Hope Is Not Enough Serum Review #18
Circejane
3 out of 5
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5

Okay...

-May 4, 2007
...but not spectacular. There are some philosophy products that I LOVE (Handmade and their microdelivery peel are incredible) but this serum just doesn't measure up. I used half the bottle and noticed that my skin was NOT looking better. Switched back to Juice Beauty's Antioxidant Serum, and my skin looked better within a days.
Philosophy When Hope Is Not Enough Serum Review #19
Paula
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Good results

-February 14, 2007
Like 'Greta' I thought that this range was for the young ones, but I am 55 and have found this serum to be up there with the really expensive ranges. Tightens and lifts in a gradual way (if you want extreme results you have to take yourself off to the surgeon I'm afraid). lasts a long time and is very comfortable to use. it is a lift product but doesnt seem to pull the skin in a taut way or dry it out like some others. This is a repeat purchase for me. Very impressed. Used with Hope in a Jar moisturiser it really is a lovely combo.
Philosophy When Hope Is Not Enough Serum Review #20
Paula
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Does What it Says

-July 17, 2006
Greta product, non greasy, non smelly and firms the skin very noticable after only a few days use. Hope in a Jar over it and your skincare routine is done for the day. I am 54 yrs old by the way and this brand is not, as I once thought, just for the younger ladies.
1 2 next>>
Copyright © 2013 SkinStore.com