ratings and reviews

Customer Reviews for Fake Bake Original Self Tan Lotion

Fake Bake Original Self Tan Lotion

Get ready to experience the ultimate in self-tanning lotions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 of 3(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Fake Bake Original Self Tan Lotion Reviews
Fake Bake Original Self Tan Lotion Review #1
bathjunkie
Orange County, Ca
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Age Group:55+
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Tried and true

-October 15, 2012
They come out with new self tanners all the time. I have tried the latest and greatest, and this one is still the best.
The last one I tried came from Kitson - hey, if they carried it I figured it must be the one that the celebs use. Fake Bake has a better result.
It's no harder to use than any other self tanner - they all have the tendency to streak, and the ones with color can rub off on clothes and sheets. I will say that I slept in a T shirt after application and my sheets were fine.
Fake Bake Original Self Tan Lotion Review #2
slg1982
Saint Francisville, La
Pros: smooth texture, absorbs quickly, gentle, dries quickly, not orange, great price, leaves skin very moisturized for days after use
Cons: color guide is slighty smelly after it dries, a little messy, the gloves are pitiful!!! lol
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:sensitive

Fake Bake Finatic!!

-May 24, 2011
I had never heard of fake bake until two weeks ago. My cousin had me try it, and let me tell you, I am now hooked. Never in my life have I had people tell me, "You're so tan YOU MAKE ME SICK!!!" and "Where have you been? You're so dark!!!" I've always been the one with the "tan envy." Lol. All these compliments and comments were made after only two applications. I have naturally fair skin with pink undertones, but I do tan very very well in the sun as well as tanning beds; but why damage your skin and look all wrinkly when you can use fake bake, the BEST STUFF EVER. It's a wee bit messy, but that is to be expected, in my opinion. Can you really expect to have a dark cocoa colored product and not spill at least one drop? Didn't think so. It absorbs fairly quickly, but after the color guide dries, it's a little bit stinky... the "self-tanner" smell; but it's not NEARLY as harsh as other products, as it contains only one natural preservative, and it's very apparent when you get a whiff because it's not nearly as offensive. The offending smell goes down the drain with the color guide after your shower, and you're left with gorgeous, glowing, moisturized, and luxuriously tanned skin. That brings me to another point. The moisturizing capabilities of this product are simply amazing. After my shower, I'm always silky smooth and literally glowing from within. If you haven't tried this, what the heck are you waiting for? Just be sure to by some better gloves because the ones provided by fake bake are just pitiful lol. Every time I've applied fake bake, I've torn gloves. Even though they insist on using gloves, I tend to not since they just rip anyway. After application I wash my hands with bar soap and a washcloth; I rub vigorously and I'm left with normal colored palms!
Fake Bake Original Self Tan Lotion Review #3
Popelka
Chapel Hill, nC
Pros: pleasant fragrance
Cons: works overnight
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:normal

Number one in London

-May 18, 2011
I've lived in London for the last ten years, and Fake Bake is honestly the number one brand for tanning in the high-end salons there (usually the esthetician exfoliates you and lathers it on for you.) I have dark hair, but fair skin that tans only after a burn, so this has been my go to brand for the last five years or so - and several of my friends used it for their weddings, too. It gives a great brown tan. I've also liked St Tropez, but most other brands make me too yellow or orange. When I moved back to the US, I could not find a salon near me that uses Fake Bake, so I just got the bottle. Note: in the salons, they apply this and tell you to sleep in dark clothes in the stuff overnight, and not to wash until the next morning. If you do that, the color is deep and beautiful, and once you shower, it no longer comes off on clothes. If you repeat the application twice, you get a really dark tan. Worth it in my opinion, though you need a friend to do your back and you should use gloves. The extender products are also very good quality, smell nice, and parabens free.
Fake Bake Original Self Tan Lotion Review #4
Kat
3 out of 5
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5

Mixed bag

-October 10, 2008
I'm very fair, so I only go for a really light fake tan. And, a coat of this does give a nice, light, natural looking tan with no streaks. But, prepare yourself, because the first time you put it on you'll be shocked at the "tint" that allows you to make sure you apply it evenly. It's as dark as tar, and as you're rubbing (and rubbing, and rubbing) it on, it looks, well, really dirty and bad. If you're willing to take a REALLY LONG TIME to get it on evenly, and you wait a REALLY LONG TIME before you go to bed, then when you wash it off you do have a nice looking fake tan. But, if I wanted a dark tan, I don't think I'd be willing to go through this over and over. Even though I did get a nice, light fake tan from it, I'll probably go back to Peter Thomas Roth self-tanner, as it's also a beautiful, light natural looking tan, without the goopy grossness of this product. However, I don't think the Roth product would be all that great if you wanted a really dramatic fake tan.
Fake Bake Original Self Tan Lotion Review #5
AP
3 out of 5
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5

Like the tan, hate the tint

-August 21, 2008
This self-tanner worked great and the smell was nice (I've tried many and usually they are so stinky - this one was not.) But, I wish it was not tinted. I put it on before bed and woke up in the morning with a nice tan, both on me and my sheets. Besides the messy tint, I liked it.
Fake Bake Original Self Tan Lotion Review #6
Francine
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

real tan!

-August 5, 2008
I love this product! I was looking for a sensibly priced tanning product when I saw this. It is by far the most natural tanning product I've ever used. No unnatural lines, it blends wonderfully also. You could charge a lot more for this product, but please don't. I would have never found it!
Fake Bake Original Self Tan Lotion Review #7
Niki
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Natural Color

-July 29, 2008
I have been using self tanners for years and this is the best one I've found. The color is so natural, not orange at all. I feel like the color lasts longer than with other tanners. Just don't forget to exfoliate before you apply!
Fake Bake Original Self Tan Lotion Review #8
Linda
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Recommend

-July 18, 2008
This is the best self tanner I have used this year. The color is true not orange. Suggest using gloves to apply.
Fake Bake Original Self Tan Lotion Review #9
B
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Top of the Line !

-June 27, 2008
I have used this product since 2001, and have tried many since. I ALWAYS GO BACK! I love this product! And it truly has a brown undertone.... NOT ORANGE! The only problem is it takes a long time to dry in the summer time... when it is hot outside.
Fake Bake Original Self Tan Lotion Review #10
Abby
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

AMAZING

-May 4, 2008
I LOVE THIS PRODUCT! I am a VERY fair individual and all sun soaking or tanning beds in the world could not make me tan! I used bottled tanners before and they only made me look orange, but not fake bake! For the first time ever i looked like i had a natural and sexy tan! I alwasy hated wearing shorts because i hated people looking at my white legs and calling me names like whitey or Casper! But after using Fake Bake I can wear shorts and not worry about this! I love this product and SkinStore.com for its prices! Use this product you will love it! Already bought multiple times!
Fake Bake Original Self Tan Lotion Review #11
ESJ
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

It works and you are tan for sure!

-January 24, 2008
I know people complained it is dark but actually it is very natural. Just have to wipe and wipe and wipe and use a glove. They forgot to send me a glove so I use the glove from loreal hair color kit. It helps make my Hawaiian vaca tan last a lot longer....I will order again. Thanks skinstore & FAKE BAKE!
Fake Bake Original Self Tan Lotion Review #12
Angela
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Tropical Color

-October 4, 2007
This is a true gem. Like many, many other self tanning products, I bought it in hopes that it would look like a natural tan. This is the best self tanner EVER. I have an olive complexion and most self tanners, as you've heard plenty of times, tend to look orange in color. This looks like I've been to the tropics, If I'm in the sun on a tropical island I get a beautiful color, now I don't have to be in the sun at all and I look as if I've been to Hawaii. Yes, it does have a slight odor, which isn't horrible, but after you shower the following morning, the ordor is gone and the color is beautiful and last for days. I usually apply twice a week to maintain this deep color. Worth every penny. And the other products in this line as amazing also. If you like this, you'll also like the Face tanner.
Fake Bake Original Self Tan Lotion Review #13
sungirl
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

the best

-May 31, 2007
the best: no orange color, no streaks, color guide for instant tan and help to see where you've placed it; make sure the bottles are fresh, because self life is affected - old lotion gets a green patina from aging that results in "dirty" looking skin...
Fake Bake Original Self Tan Lotion Review #14
LESTERSG
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Best Colour

-May 22, 2007
This is perhaps the best & most natural self tanner around. Just received mine and tried it on. It glides on easily but not easy to smooth in the area where it is hairy. Nevertheless, when the lotion dries alittle, re-coat a layer on those areas again and i wake up with a nice medium natural beautiful streak free tann. Not too dark but nice and natural. I am going to apply a second coat tonight to darken the tan. On the downside, its dries slowly..takes about an hour to dry before u can go to bed. Also somewhat sticky but tolerable. No smell or fragrance at all so its good. The content in the tube is not full and looks very little. But all in all...its a superb product.
Fake Bake Original Self Tan Lotion Review #15
darlene
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

fake and bake it till u make it!

-September 4, 2006
fake and bake is really good.. i just used it last night and i thought it wasnt goin to be what i have expected but it turned out great! i love it.. it doesnt even have a bad smell once u take a shower after the application... and the color is nice! it looks so natural. It looks like i just got back from hawaii. This is a MUST if your looking for self tanners. Just follow the directions carefully and you'll turn out great! the only bad thing is that when u sleep at night it smells really bad but once u tooken a bath the smell goes away. Just remember when u apply it on your skin make sure u blend it really well.... all in all it is great!
Fake Bake Original Self Tan Lotion Review #16
ava r
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Best tanner...

-January 24, 2006
of the very, very many I have used. With this stuff, you get instant and lasting results. While it is more expensive than the stuff at the corner drugstore, I get many more uses out of a bottle of it. When using it, keep in mind that it IS necessary to exfoliate beforehand and to wear gloves. While other tanners recommend this, it is absolutely necessary with this one. Also, shake the bottle before using it. Nobody ever says that, but if you don't, it's way too thick to begin with, and the last bit will be really runny. I also make sure that I am moisturized before using it (and their Skin Smoothie is pretty great for that). All in all, the only bad thing about it is that with the "color guide" which gives you the instant tan, you'll get light spots if it gets wet. But once you shower off the guide, this won't happen.
Fake Bake Original Self Tan Lotion Review #17
raymond
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Fake Bake 4 President

-January 14, 2006
No fake to it, just an excellent product with really good results ..Follow the instructions faithfully (esp. the part about wearing gloves while applying) and enjoy. I'm a VERY white thin skin in mid-Winter Indpls. and I love this stuff..(well, like it a lot)..Thanks...rkw
Copyright © 2014 SkinStore.com