ratings and reviews

Customer Reviews for PMD Personal Microderm Tool Kit

PMD Personal Microderm Tool Kit

Microdermabrasion tool for superior exfoliation at home.
Average Customer Rating:
4.548 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
29 of 31(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 36 Answers
PMD Personal Microderm Tool Kit Reviews
PMD Personal Microderm Tool Kit Review #1
Lisas365
Seattle, WA
Pros: similar to the real thing
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

Just buy it!

-April 4, 2014
Okay, so I'm 40 years old, and I've had issues with oily skin, large pores and clogging since I was nine years old. Let me tell you that I have done it ALL and have spent more money than you'd care to think of: antibiotics at a young age (never do this), topical retinols (still current), laser, subcision for scarring, Accutane (back before I worked in oncology and realized it was a chemo drug- but it did help my cystic acne back in my late teens- I was part of a study group and NO I still don't recommend it), REAL chemical peels that aren't legal in the states, and lots of microderm. I've also used every product in every price range (I currently only recommend Arcona) and yes, I use the Clairsonic and have gone through 3 of them in several years (I keep dropping them) and have learned that I can't live without that one either. The only thing I haven't done is full-on dermabrasion. Will my skin every look unclogged and clear- NO. Do I still break out? As long as I keep up with my regimen- not so much. But the clogged pores? They're for life. And I've got a few on my checks that are starting to look like craters- so frustrating. What helps? TONS OF EXFOLIATION. Because regardless of what others tell you- that's what the problem with the skin is. Will it totally unclog your pores? Not really, but it will help with extractions and will help pore size from growing and worsening when they re-clog (most of us with this skin type don't remain unclogged long).
After telling you all of this, I'll tell you that I have a love/hate relationship with microderm. I love that it adds a little extra exfoliation (and I can take A TON). I've typically asked for the MAX when paying for professional treatment because I can deal with pain (it's not that bad- I just have red skin for two days). But I hate that it doesn't last. And it has to be repeated often to see results and the price adds up quickly. With all of the many things I need to spend money on, I don't WANT to spend money on this service.
So my dermatologist actually recommended this. And she knows what she's doing. And so I thought, if SHE says it works, I'll easily drop a couple hundred bucks (price of less than 2 treatments). And guess what? It feels the same (though milder and I could probably use this thing far more than recommended). I am ordering the red tips because I know I can take quite a few passes with these. I'll be using this regularly and it's going to save me a whole lot of money. Trust me. This one will save you as well.
PMD Personal Microderm Tool Kit Review #2
ShanShan
Pros: smooth texture, absorbs quickly
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:sensitive

I like it !!!

-March 12, 2014
I've used it for 4 times, and I can feel that my skin is getting smoothier. it will hurt a little bit when using, but treatment after is absorbed better. the only con might be the tips which could only be used 4 times each for maximum and I have to buy more tips from time to time. still looking forward to future miricale.
PMD Personal Microderm Tool Kit Review #3
RBirdie
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:45-54
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Love it

-March 2, 2014
I have used this a few times and I love it. I use so many products (Nuface, Babyquasar MD, Clarisonic) and this is one of my favorites. You need to follow the directions though because true to the warning...you can take off a little too much if you are not constantly moving the unit across your face. I love the glow I get after I use this, I can actually see a fine dust after I use this so I know it's working. It comes with head sizes and I have used both. I ordered a box of the greens thinking I would need the heavier abrasiveness but the blues are perfect.
PMD Personal Microderm Tool Kit Review #4
MoRo1
Nevada
Pros: lightweight
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Top 25 Contributor
Age Group:45-54
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

I am so happy I took the plunge!

-January 6, 2014
I have had my eye on this device for almost a year. Finally decided to go for it with skinstore 20% off. I am so glad I did. Watched the dvd first. Easy to use and used just once. Can't cait to try again next week!
PMD Personal Microderm Tool Kit Review #5
SkinCeuticalsfan
Dry AZ
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:55+
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Stay at home spa treatment

-May 24, 2013
I have to admit I was skeptical at first. I got personal opinions from YouTube videos and decided to try it...not sorry at all. I use the device once a week and I'm convinced that my skin looks better (smooths/ tightens, and seems to minimize my pores). I've only been using the PMD tool for a couple of weeks, so I am expecting greater results with time.
PMD Personal Microderm Tool Kit Review #6
MKSE
Rochester, NY
Pros: exfoliates, smooths minor skin conditions
Cons: unreliable parts
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Age Group:45-54
Gender:F
Skin Type:sensitive

"The Whole is Not the Sum of Its Parts"

-September 22, 2012
I bought the PMD about 15 months ago and find that with twice weekly use, my pores are reduced, skin discolorations fade and, overall, does what the developers said.
However, some of the replacement heads do not fit as well as the original ones. I easily worked around this though.
The biggest concern that I have is that the electrical cord cracked soon after I began using the PMD and by the time it stopped working, the 6 month warranty expired. I found a replacement cord at Radio Shack for $25.00.
For the $$ spent on the PMD, the parts should be as reliable as the actual results.
PMD Personal Microderm Tool Kit Review #7
MarvyMDS
Madison, MS
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Top 250 Contributor
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Dermabrasion at home

-July 31, 2012
I had some discoloration and minor blemishes that I wanted to get rid of, and that is primarily why I bought the PMD tool. It is very easy to use once you get the hang of it, but it is important to read the instructions carefully and watch the instructional video.
I started off with weekly treatments in March, and now I use it about once per month just for basic maintenance.
My skin is smoother, and the imperfections that I had are greatly diminished.
I also use the PMD skin care products after a treatment, and I really love how the toner cools my skin and reduces the redness and stinging that you can get immediately after a treatment.
My only issue is that you do need to keep buying the replacement disks since you can only use them maybe three times before they are no more good. The disks are not that expensive, but it will add up over time depending on how often you use the tool.
PMD Personal Microderm Tool Kit Review #8
Amrita
Melbourne, Australia
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Skin Type:oily

Best Purchase Ever

-March 11, 2012
The convenience of use is amazing. Earlier I used to get microdermabrasion done from dermatologists and was never satisfied with the result. It always was too gentle than I would have liked. I absolutely love this tool! With this I can decide how gentle or harsh I want to go. It does take some getting used to. My first trial wasn't so pleasant. Had scraped skin. Think I overdid it.
PMD Personal Microderm Tool Kit Review #9
AZMD
Maryland
Pros: it does what it says, nice smooth skin
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:sensitive

Enjoy using the tool

-March 2, 2012
I enjoy using this tool. I have it for almost a month. First time I did little bit burn my cheek which was my fault for not moving the tool right and going over the same spot more than once. It cleared within four days. I can see my skin being smoother. Wrinkle on the forehead is getting lighter. Yes, skin feels little bit dry and tight for a couple of days. Good moisturizer will fix that. I like the tool for home use and for keeping my sensitive skin clear.
PMD Personal Microderm Tool Kit Review #10
Jessie38
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
-February 14, 2012
LOVE this device! It's right up there with my 'must haves'. Skin looks and feels great!
PMD Personal Microderm Tool Kit Review #11
blusky15
Greenville,SC
Pros: excellent results, easy to use
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Top 25 Contributor
Age Group:55+
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

Love This Beauty Tool

-January 22, 2012
Very easy to use. Excellent suction. The tips are simple to change. Works great on the hands and arms also. I returned Nubrillance because it was difficult to create close contact with the skin for the suction feature. The tips seem to wear out quickly. I ordered extra tips for the PMD in blue; green and located the red (coarse) on another website. I felt the price was very reasonable. I would recommend the PMD.
PMD Personal Microderm Tool Kit Review #12
BlackDiamonds
dallas
Pros: lightweight, good gentle exfoliator
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use 
3 out of 5
Age Group:45-54
Skin Type:combination

good home use product

-December 10, 2011
The results are less aggressive than a professional microderm--probably a good thing so you don't go overboard. Don't think it's realistic to use the heads more than once if doing the whole face. I only gave 3 stars for ease of use bc it was tricky getting the head just right so that it pops up & creates maximum contact with the face--takes some getting used to. Don't hold it in one place (the directions might not be emphatic enough) or it will abrade your skin--don't worry you'll feel it quickly.
All in all, a good product, I saw it for 80% off on Groupon.
PMD Personal Microderm Tool Kit Review #13
MissTK
Arlington, VA
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Age Group:45-54
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

Extremely Happy

-December 3, 2011
I purchased this product based on the positive reviews, one in particular by another woman who's story was similar to mine: 50+, mild acne scars and large pores from years of outbreaks. While my mother always told me I'd be happy to have oily skin because it would mean fewer wrinkles, and that's true, had I known I'd be battling acne my whole life I might have opted for the wrinkles! But back to the product...As other people have noted, it's important to watch the DVD prior to using. My first pass resulted in a welt, which healed within a few days and that was user error. Otherwise, the anticipated redness, but when the welt and redness had subsided, improvement was absolutely noticeable. I was so excited I wanted to use it much more often than the recommended one time per week but restrained myself. After 3 treatments, my skin looks better than it has in years, and breakouts are less frequent probably due to a deeper cleaning/getting ride of lingering bacteria. The only thing that kept me from rating this 5 stars is simply that I have nothing to compare it to. One last thing regarding other peoples' comments on the discs only lasting for 3 treatments: I just rub two discs together--they're pumice or sandpaper after all, so they're meant to erode surfaces--then clean thoroughly. By doing so, got off any remaining gook from the heads of the discs and am able to make them last a bit longer.
PMD Personal Microderm Tool Kit Review #14
keahi85
NE Ohio
Pros: easy to use, great value
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Great at-home microdermabrasion

-October 18, 2011
I originally wanted to try an at-home microdermabrasion tool because of an infomercial I saw featuring a competing brand. The reviews for the other brand always pointed out how it broke after a few months. Then I found PMD available for MUCH cheaper than the competing brand, plus it was on sale here at Skin Store for $50 less than normal. I ordered it immediately, and I haven't regretted it since.
I've never had a professional microderm treatment, so I cannot compare the two. But for my purposes, the tool works incredibly well. If you use it as instructed, you should have smoother skin after only a few weeks. I did receive a few compliments from people who couldn't quite place what changed, they just said I had some sort of "glow" or softness that wasn't there before.
My understanding is that this device must be used in tandem with some sort of skin renewal cream or serum for maximum effect, so that is what I've been doing. The point of removing that top layer of skin is to allow your other beauty products to penetrate more readily. My pores appear minimized, my skin is more even/smoother, and I have fewer blackheads. I LOVE it.
The replacement discs may seem expensive, but you can use each disc up to three times and maybe more depending on how much skin you are covering with one disc. You also receive a total of 6 discs in each replacement package (3 small, 3 large), so each time you use it on your face costs about $0.83 (not including the cost of the tool itself). I'm more than willing to pay just over $3 a month for these results without leaving my home.
PMD Personal Microderm Tool Kit Review #15
Molly715
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Love it!!

-October 14, 2011
I have never felt compelled to review a product before but this thing is amazing. I have used it only 3 times and the difference in my complexion is huge. It takes some practice to figure out how to use it but if you follow the directions to the letter it's very easy. My skin tone is much more even. This tool has dramatically lightened or removed dark spots from acne and also blotches from sun damage that have bothered me for years. People tell me I look great but they don't know what is different. I love it and I highly recommend.
PMD Personal Microderm Tool Kit Review #16
jodeg1945
Arnold, MO
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:55+
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Give it a try!

-October 9, 2011
My situation: I've just completed my fourth weekly treatment with my Personal Microderm. I'm 66 years old, have a few wrinkles, some adult acne and some whiteheads. My dermatologist has me using generic Retin-A, which has helped the acne somewhat. I've never had a professional microdermabrasion treatment. The PMD was on sale, so decided to give it a try, after reading tons of reviews.
I'm very happy with the results so far. My skin is softer and clearer, and the whiteheads are beginning to disappear. I use the blue tips (for more sensitive skin).
Here's what I would advise:
1. Go VERY easy the first time you use it, I can't emphasize "EASY" enough!
2. Practice first on some "tougher" skin, like your leg or arm. It takes a while to get the knack of using the tool. It has pretty good suction, more than I thought, and this makes it more difficult to keep the tool moving. The longer you stay in one spot, the more it abrades -- trust me on that!
3. As I mentioned above, keep the tool moving, don't stay in one spot. And the first time you use it, go over each area ONCE. After the first time, it will be easier to use.
4. Make absolutely sure you use a toner that is as close to ALCOHOL-FREE as you can get! I used a Sea Breeze type toner the first time, and my face burned for hours! I now use L'Oreal's Alcohol Free toner (inexpensive and available at Wal-Mart) and it's wonderful!
The first time I used it, I did an awful job and ended up with a burning, red face, plus some scabs and then my face peeled. Some of the other reviewers had the same experience. Since then, I have done just fine and have had no problems. I still use the blue tips, but now I can go over "problem" areas more than once and I know how to keep the tool moving.
I'm going to use it once a week for a while, until I have the finished results I want. It's a well made tool and yes, it works!
PMD Personal Microderm Tool Kit Review #17
Jeano
Easley, SC
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:55+
Gender:F
Skin Type:normal

I love this thing!!!

-September 9, 2011
I have used this microdermabrasion tool for about 3 weeks now. I am 73 years old and have almost no
wrinkles, but do have some acne scars from my
teen years. Since I have been using this, they seem
to be disappearing, and the texture of my skin is
so much better. It is smooth and luminous. I am so
pleased that I am considering ordering a couple
for Christmas gifts for my daughters, especially if
they are on sale in late November.
PMD Personal Microderm Tool Kit Review #18
Pmd1
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5

I'm addicted to this product!

-August 13, 2011
PMD has made a HUGE difference in the texture and tone of my skin!!!
PMD Personal Microderm Tool Kit Review #19
Anonymous
Knoxville, TN
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

seems worked

-August 12, 2011
I think it does clean skin. This is good for oily skin that is hard to clean. But i don't think it has anything to do with wrinkles and dark spots as it claims. It is just a abrasion tool.
PMD Personal Microderm Tool Kit Review #20
bulldog
Maine
Pros: amazing results
Cons: a little tricky to use
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Top 100 Contributor
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Game-changer!

-July 29, 2011
Ho. Ly. Cow. It's like I have a new face. I used this once a week for the first month, and the awesomeness just sort of hit me all at once after that fourth use. It's been over three months now, and I'm blemish-free and even-toned. My skin couldn't possibly be any smoother. Fine lines are diminished, spots are faded. I've been getting compliments on my skin regularly since I started seeing results, and that's definitely a new thing for me. It does take a couple of tries to get the hang of it and find that balance of just enough resurfacing. Just follow the directions to the letter and go easy the first couple of times. This has given me a whole new level of confidence about my skin, and that particular result is priceless!
1 2 next>>
Copyright © 2013 SkinStore.com