ratings and reviews

Customer Reviews for SkinCeuticals Sheer Physical UV Defense SPF 50

SkinCeuticals Sheer Physical UV Defense SPF 50

A ground breaking physical sunscreen offering true broad spectrum coverage from UVA and UVB rays.
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
SkinCeuticals Sheer Physical UV Defense SPF 50 Reviews
SkinCeuticals Sheer Physical UV Defense SPF 50 Review #1
Sylvia71
Washington, DC
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, gentle, great under makeup or without, matte finish
Cons: unpleasant smell
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value 
2 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

One of the Best Sunscreens

-June 23, 2012
This sunscreen leaves no sticky residue at all, no grease, and no shine. It really disappears.
The only reminder that I have it on my skin is the smell, which bothers me for many hours after I apply the sunscreen. However, I have an unusually strong sense of smell and almost every sunscreen (and perfume, scented hairspray, etc.) bothers me or even gives me a headache. This one's smell is subtle enough that, even though it bothers me, it would probably be fine for most people. It's not perfumey--just a mild chemical smell, like all zinc oxide sunscreens have. I don't think this is enough of a problem to detract a star.
it doesn't irritate my sometimes-sensitive skin at all and doesn't aggravate my acne.
I really wish they'd make this product in a larger bottle for the body; at this price, it's too expensive to use every day on my face, neck, arms, hands, and legs (if I'm wearing shorts or a skirt.), but I wish I could afford to use it every day.
SkinCeuticals Sheer Physical UV Defense SPF 50 Review #2
amtt
Chicago, IL
Pros: lightweight, absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance
Cons: pricey
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value 
2 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use 
3 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

Nice sun protection

-February 27, 2012
Typically, I use Jurlique SPF mixed in with my favorite moisturizer. I tried this formula for warmer weather, because of the increased SPF and non-greasy, translucent formula. I thought it was a nice change, but not sure if it is worth the price differential.
SkinCeuticals Sheer Physical UV Defense SPF 50 Review #3
sunscreenfreak
Los Angeles
Pros: absorbs quickly, gentle, matte
Cons: chalky white residue, rough texture
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:normal

most matte ever but chalky white residue

-October 3, 2011
I've used many different types of sunscreen searching for matte finish. Many claim to be matte but still leaves sticky residue and my long hair sticks to my face all the time. This one is the best matte finish I've seen so far. The con is that it looks chalky white and does not disappear. Adjust the amount you use at a time if you don't want geisha look. And I could also feel mildly rough texture but it does not irritate my skin when I rub it in.
SkinCeuticals Sheer Physical UV Defense SPF 50 Review #4
Tallpatty
Louisville, KY
Pros: lightweight, absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle, doesn't make your skin oily
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
Age Group:45-54
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Best Sunscreen for Faces

-July 29, 2011
I began wearing sunscreen religiously about two yeas ago. I have tried every sunscreen that claims to be lightweight and provide broad spectrum protection. Never before have I found one that feels so light and doesn't make my oily skin feel greasey. I can work in the yard, run in the park and, though I may be drenched in sweat, my skin is still protected from the sun. This is the first year ever that my nose hasn't been pink....not once! That little bottle lasts a long time too! I use it on my face, neck, and chest and have had the same bottle for about two months.
SkinCeuticals Sheer Physical UV Defense SPF 50 Review #5
greeneyes
Pros: lightweight, absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Great product!

-July 24, 2011
This sunscreen is exceptional. I love it. It is more liquid than other sunscreens and absorbs more quickly. Also a lot less greasy. The best thing though is that I can rub it all over my face and do not need to avoid my eyes because it is absolutely non-irritating. I have had a lot of problems with other sunscreens irritating my eyes, even though I do not put them near my eyes. It seems like they exude some kind of fumes that make my eyes hurt all day.
SkinCeuticals Sheer Physical UV Defense SPF 50 Review #6
schang
Seattle
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Great find!

-July 18, 2011
I am allergic to chemical sunscreens and noticed that I got small breakouts on my face using the usual greasy and heavy sensitive skin sunscreen formulas. So I've been looking around for one specifically for the face, and this product is awesome. It goes on greasy at first, but dries to nice light matte finish so it doesn't rub off or slide off. Its white when it comes out of the bottle, but does not leave a white palor to the face. I recommend this product to anybody who has sensitive skin!!!
SkinCeuticals Sheer Physical UV Defense SPF 50 Review #7
techjan
Georgetown, IN
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Age Group:45-54
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

great sunscreen

-April 22, 2011
This is a great product for anyone with oily skin as it does not leave any greasy residue and stays matt. Looks good under makeup and does not clog pores.
SkinCeuticals Sheer Physical UV Defense SPF 50 Review #8
Lage
Clinton, NJ
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, pleasant fragrance, gentle
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Top 100 Contributor
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:sensitive

I Love It!

-March 19, 2011
As a light, sensitive skinned person who burns easily and has never tanned, I have unsuccessfully searched for a facial sunscreen for years. Most irritate my skin and eyes, have a sticky and/or gloopy residue, or clog my pores. This sunscreen doesn't cause any problems. It spreads easily over my face cream, works well with cosmetics, isn't greasy, and goes a long way. I put it on after my facial serum and cream. Make sure you shake it first.
SkinCeuticals Sheer Physical UV Defense SPF 50 Review #9
Suzy1960
California
Pros: lightweight, absorbs quickly
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:45-54
Gender:F
Skin Type:sensitive

Worth the Price!

-January 16, 2011
I recently purchased this sunscreen, hoping that I would finally find something that I could wear. Most sunscreens feel greasy and heavy on my face. SkinCeuticals offers a great alternative. The product absorbs quickly and doesn't feel greasy or sticky. Best of all, it doesn't have the typical sunscreen smell. Yes, it is expensive. I would rather pay more for a sunscreen that I will use, than struggle to use a product that I hate or go without altogether!
SkinCeuticals Sheer Physical UV Defense SPF 50 Review #10
SkincareJunkie
Rocky Mountains
Pros: lightweight, gentle
4 out of 5
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
Top 25 Contributor
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

Great sunscreen!

-January 16, 2011
This is a wonderful sunscreen. The finish is, as other reviewers have noted, quite dry and matte, which is a definite bonus! Moreover, a little goes a long way. I only gave this product 4 stars, though, because it makes my foundation cake. Great choice if you will not be wearing under makeup!
SkinCeuticals Sheer Physical UV Defense SPF 50 Review #11
zoya
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Finally!

-October 23, 2010
This product absorbs quickly without any residue. I love the matte finish and the lightness of the product. I have melasma and this has helped to control the pigmentation.
SkinCeuticals Sheer Physical UV Defense SPF 50 Review #12
SFGirl
San Francisco, CA
Pros: lightweight, absorbs quickly
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Top 250 Contributor
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:normal

My New Sunscreen!

-August 1, 2010
Since I've had positive experiences with so many other Skinceuticals products, I thought I would try this sunscreen out.
I'm like most people - I don't wear sunscreen everyday and keep feeling guilty and I know I should. But sunscreens are greasy.
This is different - after it absorbed, my skin almost felt TOO dry. It left a very matte finish - although it was a little too white at first, it faded within an hour.
I challenge anyone who things sunscreen is greasy to give this a shot. I don't think you'll be disappointed!
SkinCeuticals Sheer Physical UV Defense SPF 50 Review #13
Jasmin
Coral Gables, FL
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value 
3 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:sensitive

Great sunscreen

-June 2, 2010
I have been trying different sunscreens since DDF discontinued my favorite one and I think I finally found a replacement. This sunscreen is light, non-greasy and has no fragrance. It absorbs quickly in the skin and wears well under foundation. I love it!
There is one caveat: The bottle is small, so you don't get a lot for your money.
Copyright © 2013 SkinStore.com