ratings and reviews

Customer Reviews for Peter Thomas Roth Max Anti-Shine Mattifying Gel

Peter Thomas Roth Max Anti-Shine Mattifying Gel

Advanced oil-absorbing pore minimizer for an all-day greaseless matte look. An Editor's Pick from InStyle magazine.
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
4 of 6(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Peter Thomas Roth Max Anti-Shine Mattifying Gel Reviews
Peter Thomas Roth Max Anti-Shine Mattifying Gel Review #1
OilySkinner
Arkansas
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

Works perfectly!

-October 29, 2012
I have the worst oily skin of anyone. I am a Filipino woman and my face gets a thick oily layer by 2pm every day. I have tried non-oily products but nothing to combat the oil to begin with. I read about this product in InStyle magazine and thought I'd give it a try even though it costs more than I'd like to pay for such a small bottle but I was desparate! It goes on light and smooth and prevents the oil from appearing on my face (forehead, nose, and cheeks.)
Peter Thomas Roth Max Anti-Shine Mattifying Gel Review #2
Testingthewaters
Guam
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:M
Skin Type:oily

Gets the job done

-October 16, 2012
This product did exactly what it said it would. It only takes a small dab too, so it seems this tiny bottle will last longer than I expected. The price is right, but my wife found it just a tad bit cheaper at an actual salon after I ordered this online.
Peter Thomas Roth Max Anti-Shine Mattifying Gel Review #3
PTRFAN
Colorado Springs, CO
Pros: smooth texture, lightweight, absorbs quickly, gentle, do exactly what it says it'll do
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use 
5 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:combination

Can't live without it

-August 7, 2011
This is like a dream come true. I have been searching for years for a product like this that will be able to control the level of oil on my face ALL DAY long without making me breakout at the end of the day!
You don't need much. A small amount on your fingertip goes a long way. I know for a fact that it works because I have reduce the use of blotting papers in a daily basis. My face look a lot fresher and less shiny throughout the day whether it be with or without makeup on. A must have every day, especially when I go camping.
I LOVE IT!!!!! Highly recommended!!!!!!
Thank you PTR!!!!!
Peter Thomas Roth Max Anti-Shine Mattifying Gel Review #4
klel
Southeast
2 out of 5
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value 
2 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use 
1 out of 5
Age Group:25-34
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

Not good

-June 16, 2010
This formula goes on well and I think it would work for those who don't want to put powder over it, but I have tried and tried to apply my colorescience suncreen powder after this product. It clumps up with the powder and peels off. I tried putting it over the powder and that looked bad too. I will have to keep looking.
Peter Thomas Roth Max Anti-Shine Mattifying Gel Review #5
HeidiL
Massachusetts
Cons: thick consistency
1 out of 5
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use 
2 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:F
Skin Type:oily

Love PTR but this was disappointing

-April 25, 2010
I use many PTR products and love the line....thought this would be a great as well. It definitely does NOT provide an "all day greasless matte look". My shine came back within an hour. And, it feels thick and heavy on my skin. I have oily skin but it's not "freakishly" oily.... I was looking forward to something that would keep me from pulling out the blotting papers before lunchtime.....this wasn't it.
Peter Thomas Roth Max Anti-Shine Mattifying Gel Review #6
Alberto
Japan
Pros: gentle, lightweight, smooth texture
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use 
4 out of 5
Age Group:35-44
Gender:M
Skin Type:oily
-November 27, 2009
I like the mattifying effect and most of all the transparency of this product. I've bought another brand with a colored product that made me looking like I was wearing foundation. I recommend this product to other guys with oily skin.
Peter Thomas Roth Max Anti-Shine Mattifying Gel Review #7
Sarah J
3 out of 5
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5

OK, but not great

-September 9, 2008
I really love the PTR mineral sunscreen, so I was hoping this would be an equally great product. It seems to work for an hour or two, then you have to reapply, which I don't find practical when wearing makeup. I think I'll stick with blotting sheets.
Peter Thomas Roth Max Anti-Shine Mattifying Gel Review #8
Grace
1 out of 5
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5

didn't like it

-April 30, 2007
Did not work well for me. Used on top of oil-free sunscreen, and even though it's applied sparingly, the product leaves white flakes on my face -- even after waiting about 30 minutes for sunscreen to be fully absorbed. Moreover, the shine comes back after less than an hour. The container is also not appropriate -- a tube would enable more careful dispensing.
Peter Thomas Roth Max Anti-Shine Mattifying Gel Review #9
Veronica
2 out of 5
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5

Not good enough

-February 25, 2007
This mattifier feels sticky and only lasts for a few hours. I didn´t like it at all. I have combination skin and used it on my T-zone.
Peter Thomas Roth Max Anti-Shine Mattifying Gel Review #10
Lee
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Utterly Amazing

-April 26, 2006
Well, It's my 1st day using Peter Thomas Roth Mattifying Gel, and I never could have imagined that it could work this well. I just got to work after a long commute and two hours after applying it, I am still SHINE FREE. That is a huge accomplishment, since by now I am always starting to 'glisten', to put it mildly. I have terribly oily skin, always have...and I have literally tried them all, but this stuff is very, very different. It feels almost like vaseline going on your face at first (which had me skeptical), but after you rub it in...WOW, it leaves your skin super smooth and totally matte. Very light and clean feeling also and NO SHINE! I cannot say enough...GREAT PRODUCT
Peter Thomas Roth Max Anti-Shine Mattifying Gel Review #11
Sami
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

FANTASTIC

-November 25, 2005
I beg you..ignore all the other anto-shine prudcts..this makes your skin look so matte like and the shine is knocked out for the whole day ..this is the BEST..and ive tried many
Peter Thomas Roth Max Anti-Shine Mattifying Gel Review #12
donna
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

good stuff

-August 18, 2005
It eliminated my need to blot with matting tissues throughout the day...love it!
Peter Thomas Roth Max Anti-Shine Mattifying Gel Review #13
Monica
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

WOW!

-June 24, 2005
This product does exactly what it says it will. No oily breakthrough even after I was out and about on a hot and humid day! The only drawback is the size of the tube--wish there was more of it!!! This product provides a matte look that people comment on! I am very happy!!!
Peter Thomas Roth Max Anti-Shine Mattifying Gel Review #14
D. Williams
5 out of 5
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5

Highly Recommended

-October 29, 2004
I have tried various products before and this actually works
Copyright © 2014 SkinStore.com